Fred Hersch / Dan Tepfer Duo (stream archive)

Fred Hersch / Dan Tepfer

A select member of jazz’s piano pantheon, Fred Hersch is a pervasively influential creative force who has shaped the music’s course over more than three decades as an improviser, composer, educator, bandleader, collaborator and recording artist. A fifteen-time Grammy nominee, he has been proclaimed “the most arrestingly innovative pianist in jazz over the last decade” by Vanity Fair, “an elegant force of musical invention” by The L.A. Times, and “a living legend” by The New Yorker.

Hersch and pianist Dan Tepfer ("a deeply rational improviser drawn to the unknown" according to The New York Times) share a long history: Tepfer studied with Hersch starting in 2004 and describes him as a longstanding mentor and friend. This will be their very first time performing together. 

Using cutting-edge software Jacktrip, they'll play together from two separate locations, Hersch in Pennsylvania, Tepfer in Brooklyn. Repertoire will include compositions by Hersch and Tepfer as well as choice jazz standards.

Audience members are welcome to comment, ask questions, and make requests.

The concert starts at 3pm NYC-time on Thursday, January 21st 2021. This is:

10am Hawaii // 12pm San Francisco // 3pm NYC // 8pm London // 9pm Paris // 10pm Jerusalem // 12am Tbilisi // 5am Tokyo

Visit Website

Upcoming Events

Sat, March 13, 3:00 PM

Antonio Sanchez / Dan Tepfer Livestream Concert

Buy a Streaming Pass →

Christian McBride / Dan Tepfer Duo (stream archive)

Buy a Streaming Pass →

Aaron Diehl / Dan Tepfer Duo (stream archive)

Buy a Streaming Pass →

Gilad Hekselman / Dan Tepfer Duo (stream archive)

Buy a Streaming Pass →

C├ęcile McLorin Salvant / Dan Tepfer: the French Songbook (Stream Archive)

Buy a Streaming Pass →

J.S. Bach / Dan Tepfer : Goldberg Variations / Variations (stream archive)

Buy a Streaming Pass →

J.S. Bach / Dan Tepfer : Inventions / Reinventions (stream archive)

Buy a Streaming Pass →

Miguel Zenon / Dan Tepfer Duo (stream archive)

Buy a Streaming Pass →

Thomas Enhco / Dan Tepfer Duo (Stream Archive)

Buy a Streaming Pass →

Melissa Aldana / Dan Tepfer Duo (stream archive)

Buy a Streaming Pass →

Linda May Han Oh / Dan Tepfer Duo (stream archive)

Buy a Streaming Pass →

Ben Wendel / Dan Tepfer Duo (Stream Archive)

Buy a Streaming Pass →