Sat Jun 27

Kirk Whalum

Sat, June 27
8PM / $59.50 - $79.50
Get Tickets
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

Kirk Whalum

Soulful, passionate, stirring...these are the words most often used to describe Kirk’s music. Forged from his Memphis, (TN) gospel roots and his 1980‘s initiation into the thriving Houston, TX nightclub scene, Kirk’s big, rich tenor sound is unmistakably his. The 80’s were highlighted by Kirk’s stepping out of his blossoming sideman role and forming his own band. It was there that Kirk ultimately developed both his “voice” and songwriting in the crucible of the local club scene––especially at a rooftop club called Cody’s. It was also in Houston where jazz pianist Bob James “discovered” him and brought him on tour, which led to five successful albums with Columbia Records, including Cache, Kirk’s first #1 album. As well, Kirk and Bob received a Grammy nomination for their collaboration album, Joined at the Hip. After moving to Los Angeles, Kirk became an in demand session player for top artists like, Barbara Streisand, Al Jarreau, Luther Vandross, Larry Carlton, Quincy Jones and most notably, Whitney Houston, amongst many others. It’s his sax heard on the mega-hit, “I Will Always Love You.” Kirk soon followed that career high point with his phenomenal hit album released on Warner Bros. Records, For You, perhaps the most successful of over 25 solo recordings to date; others include his eclectic, and much lauded, Gospel According to Jazz series, (Chapters 1, 2, 3 and 4). In addition to his many solo projects, Kirk was also a member of the popular soul/jazz group, BWB, which features Kirk as the “W” of the group with Rick Braun (trumpet) and Norman Brown (guitar). 

An ordained minister, Kirk has earned a Masters of Art in Religion. It’s in this spirit that he serves his community in various ways when his touring schedule allows. There is also his daily fifteen minute podcast, Bible In Your Ear (BIYE), in which he invites you to listen along as he reads through the Bible in a year. In addition to music and ministry, Kirk has a passion to educate young, aspiring musicians and is currently engaged as a music professor at Visible Music College in his hometown of Memphis. 

Kirk is the recipient of numerous awards and acknowledgements for his musical excellence including three Dove Award nominations, an NAACP Image Award nomination and has won two Stellar Awards- Gospel music’s highest honor. A twelve time Grammy nominee, Kirk won his first Grammy award (2011)for Best Gospel Song (“It’s What I Do”––featuring Lalah Hathaway) alongside life-long friend and gifted songwriter, Jerry Peters. 

In a career spanning decades, Kirk has a sound that is uniquely his; it is a sound that leaves an indelible imprint on the listener.

Sat, June 27

8PM / $59.50 - $79.50
Get Tickets

Please note: There is a $20 food/beverage minimum per person not included in ticket price. You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional purchase policies.

Upcoming Events

Fri, April 10, 8:00 PM

Rahsaan Patterson ***New date: September 18***

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 11, 8:00 PM

Rahsaan Patterson ***New date: September 19***

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 12, 4:00 PM

Easter with Anthony Brown

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 12, 8:00 PM

Easter with Anthony Brown

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 17, 8:00 PM

The Rippingtons

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 18, 7:00 PM

Comedy Crank Spring Affair featuring Mike Brooks and Friends

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 19, 7:00 PM

GP Promotions Presents "Enchantment" and "Ray, Goodman & Brown"

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 24, 8:00 PM

76 Degrees West Band

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 25, 8:00 PM

Luther Re-Lives

Get Tickets →

Mon, April 27, 5:30 PM

Montgomery County Public Schools Champions for Children

Private Event →

Fri, May 1, 8:30 PM

A Tribute to the Music of Nina Simone

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 3, 4:00 PM

Musical Stage Play: Mothers of Old Starring Ann Nesby

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 6, 7:00 PM

The Bethesda Blues & Jazz Youth Orchestra featuring SharĂ³n Clark

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 8, 7:00 PM

Stokley - New Music - New Show! ***New Date 10/9***

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 8, 10:00 PM

Stokley - New Music - New Show! ***New Date 10/10***

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 9, 8:00 PM

Jonathan Butler

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 15, 8:30 PM

Be'la Dona

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 17, 5:00 PM

Stage Play: Da' Fresh Prince of Potomac & Afterparty w/ Frank Sirius Band

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 21, 7:30 PM

2020 Bernard/Ebb Songwriting Awards Concert

Rescheduled Date →

Fri, May 22, 8:00 PM

Walter Beasley

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 29, 8:00 PM

Kindred the Family Soul

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 30, 8:00 PM

Kindred the Family Soul

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 31, 7:00 PM

Russell Thompkins & The New Stylistics and Eddie "Lonely Girl" Holman

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 21, 3:00 PM

ConFunkShun - Father's Day!

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 21, 7:00 PM

ConFunkShun - Father's Day!

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 28, 7:30 PM

Motown & More: The Legacy Lives ***New date: June 28***

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 17, 8:00 PM

Hey Nineteen

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 19, 7:00 PM

The Ebonys, Peaches & Herb and The Casuals

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 24, 8:00 PM

Ruben Studdard

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 25, 8:00 PM

Sugar Bear Birthday Bash featuring E.U.

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 8, 8:00 PM

Howard Hewett

Get Tickets →