Thu Aug 15

Ryan Hanseler Quartet Ft. Quiana Lynell

Thu, August 15
7PM / $35 | $3.03 Fees
Get Tickets
The Durham Jazz Workshop / Sharp 9 Gallery

4608 Industry Lane, Suite L
Durham, NC 27713

Ryan Hanseler

Quiana Lynell - vocals

Brian Miller - sax

Ryan Hanseler - piano

Will Mobetta Ledbetter - bass

Jason Marsalis - drums

Pianist & composer Ryan Hanseler has been featured  with top performing artists including Branford Marsalis, Herlin Riley, Wessel Anderson, Delfeayo Marsalis, Adonis Rose, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Jazzmeia Horn, Cyrille Aimee, Gabrielle Cavassa and more. Hanseler’s inclusive expression and commitment to melodic invention has contributed to an international demand leading to performances in twenty countries. For the past several years, much of Hanseler’s touring has been alongside artistic director of the New Orleans Jazz Orchestra, drummer Adonis Rose. 

Hanseler’s most recent album, Live at Snug! received the Off-Beat Top Fifty Artist award in New Orleans where it was recorded. Soon to be released is Hanseler’s newest project, a duo album featuring friends and mentors Leroy Jones, Nicholas Payton, Doyle Cooper, Ricardo Pascal and Ashlin Parker. The album is set to release in the middle of 2024. 

Currently, Ryan Hanseler is the pianist for the Navy Commodores Big Band in Washington D.C where he resides. He is a graduate of North Carolina Central University where he studied under the guidance of Dr.Ira Wiggins, Branford Marsalis and Joey Calderazzo. 

In 2017, Quiana Lynell made her salient mark on the jazz-and-beyond musical world as a wise, heartfelt, warm vocalist whose voice is singular in its soul, intensity, ecstasy and outright spiritual courage. She played with her trio at the New Orleans Jazz & Heritage Festival which led to her performing in Poland with trumpeter Terence Blanchard’s Spike Lee tribute with a 75-piece orchestra. In November, after considering for a couple of years whether she was ready, she decided to vie for the Sarah Vaughan International Jazz Vocal Competition Award. She commanded the finals stage at NJPAC’s Victoria Theater and wowed the judges and audience with her vocal prowess that earned her the prize, which afforded her the opportunity to record an album for Concord Records. The result, 2019’s A Little Love, produced by the renowned Brian Michel Bacchus, is testament to what a rare, mesmerizing artist can achieve on her auspicious debut.

 

Thu, August 15

7PM / $35 | $3.03 Fees
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Fri, July 19, 7:30 PM

The Blackhawk Quintet

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 20, 7:30 PM

Lois Deloatch Gomes with Guest Vocalist, Jim Berry

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 26, 7:30 PM

Stephen Philip Harvey Octet

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 27, 7:30 PM

Brad Walker Quartet

Get Tickets →

Tue, July 30, 7:30 PM

NCJRO

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 2, 7:30 PM

Tymas, Lile, Foureman & Taylor group

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 3, 7:30 PM

Angela Bingham Trio w/Grant Osborne & Scott Sawyer

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 9, 7:30 PM

Aaron Johnson Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 10, 7:30 PM

The Nichols-Templeton (TNT) Quartet.

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 17, 7:30 PM

Ernest Turner Qt w/Stephen Riley

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 23, 7:30 PM

Adithya Vaidhyan Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 24, 7:30 PM

Chrishawn Darby Quartet

Get Tickets →

Tue, August 27, 7:30 PM

NCJRO

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 30, 7:30 PM

Eric Williams Quintet

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 31, 7:30 PM

Jim Ketch Swingtet

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 6, 7:30 PM

Kevin Bales Quartet

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 13, 7:30 PM

Aaron Gross Group

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 14, 7:30 PM

Scott Sawyer Quintet

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 20, 7:30 PM

Actors Improv Theater presents "Word Jazz"

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 21, 7:30 PM

THRIO

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 22, 5:00 PM

Nicole Zuraitis

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 22, 7:00 PM

Nicole Zuraitis

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 27, 7:00 PM

Peter Lamb and the Wolves

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 27, 9:00 PM

Peter Lamb and the Wolves

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 4, 7:30 PM

Ilya Lushtak Trio

Get Tickets →