Tue Oct 22

The Whole Beast: Duck Boot Camp

Tue, October 22
6:30PM / $65
Fewer than 5 tickets left Get Tickets
Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital

921 Pennsylvania Ave. SE
Washington, DC 20003

Chef Mark Haskell

Calling all carnivores! Many of us have forgotten that the meat we buy comes from animals. To reconnect with the meat's source (hint: it’s not a cellophane-wrapped package), local chefs have turned to whole animal butchery. The Whole Beast series will highlight the processes involved in butchering and preparing prime cuts, as well as some of the lesser-known bits. You will leave class with a greater appreciation for the whole animal, from nose to tail or beak to feet.

Chef Mark Haskell will show participants how to use the whole duck, wild or farm-raised, for winter's best meals.  Participants will learn hands-on the processes of butchering, cooking & conserving the whole duck. You will learn to render duck fat, the healthiest cooking fat; how to make dark duck stock; and how to cure and cook duck leg confit, seared duck breast, and the ultimate guilty pleasure - duck cracklings.

Chef Mark Haskell’s career has taken him to kitchens in Europe, Asia, South America and the US. A native of the South Carolina Lowcountry, he has an affection for Southern cooking and gardening, and he applies his international flair to these traditions. He was knighted a Chevalier to the Confrérie de Vin de Saint Vincent for his work promoting organic and biodynamic food in the Côtes du Rhône region of France.

Please bring an apron. A minimum of 4 students is required for this class to occur.  Registrants will be informed if the minimum is not met.

Tue, October 22

6:30PM / $65
Fewer than 5 tickets left Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Wed, October 16, 6:30 PM

Kitchen 101: Sausage Making

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 17, 6:30 PM

Beyond Basics: Pasta Making

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 17, 7:00 PM

Global Sounds on the Hill: ASA-CHANG & Junray

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 18, 5:00 PM

Kids Concert + Family Happy Hour with King Bullfrog

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 19, 12:00 PM

Contemporary Watercolors

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 19, 2:30 PM

Introduction to Linocut Printmaking

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 20, 3:00 PM

Opera starts with Oh!: Venus and Adonis (Ages 5+)

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 21, 6:30 PM

Intermediate Drawing

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 25, 7:00 PM

Chef's Table with Chef Gérard Pangaud

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 25, 7:00 PM

Evil and the Anti-Hero: Kontrol (2003)

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 27, 3:00 PM

Kids Euro Festival: Blazing A Trail - An Irish Reading Workshop (Ages 8-12)

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 27, 4:00 PM

Kids Euro Festival: Blazing a Trail, An Irish Reading Workshop

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 1, 6:30 PM

Pottery on the Hill Preview Reception

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 2, 10:00 AM

Pottery on the Hill 2019

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 3, 11:00 AM

Pottery on the Hill 2019

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 4, 6:00 PM

Kids Euro Festival: Frog Pond Dance Performance

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 4, 6:30 PM

Intermediate Drawing

Get Tickets →

Tue, November 5, 6:30 PM

Order In: Indian

Get Tickets →

Tue, November 5, 6:30 PM

Basic Drawing Techniques: Drawing from an Image

Get Tickets →

Wed, November 6, 6:30 PM

Kitchen 101: Knife Skills

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 7, 7:00 PM

All Politics is Local with Tom Sherwood & Mark Segraves: Kojo Nnamdi

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 9, 1:00 PM

Storytelling: A Workshop in Creative Nonfiction

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 9, 3:00 PM

Eastern Market Art Series & Teachings: Giving Thanks with Graphic Design

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 16, 10:00 AM

The Art of French Cooking with Chef Gérard Pangaud

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 16, 12:00 PM

Contemporary Watercolors

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 16, 2:30 PM

Introduction to Linocut Printmaking

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 17, 11:00 AM

Flower Arranging: Hand-Tied Technique

Get Tickets →

Tue, November 19, 6:30 PM

Street Food: Classics of the Mediterranean

Get Tickets →

Tue, November 19, 7:00 PM

Talk of the Hill with Bill Press: Senator Sherrod Brown

Get Tickets →

Wed, November 20, 7:00 PM

The Life of a Poet: A Conversation with Ron Charles + Reginald Dwayne Betts

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 21, 6:30 PM

Beyond Basics: Pasta Making

Get Tickets →