Sat Jun 1

The Tale of Serse

Sat, June 1
8PM / $20 - $45
Get Tickets
The In Series

ATLAS - Lang Theatre: 1333 H St NE
Washington, DC 20002

The Tale of Serse

George Frideric Handel composed Serse to revolutionize opera so that it would speak to the audiences of his time. In the same way, In Series takes this most vibrant of Handel’s works – complete with its famous “largo” Ombra Mai Fu – and transforms it to captivate our own contemporary audience. From the legends of ancient Persia and steeped in Sufi culture, the pains and pleasures of learning to love are experienced through the magic of this music and a new narration crafted from the poetry of Rumi, one of the most popular poets of all time. With The Tale of Serse, In Series announces the premiere of its own orchestra Innov?ti?, to perform this magnetic and visionary score on period instruments under the direction of conductor and adapter Timothy Nelson. Sung in Italian with English supertitles, poetry-narration in English. Special “Adventure Seating” available onstage.

Directors' Salon - May 20, 2019 at 7pm
Engage with the directors and designers in discussion and Q&A, enjoy refreshments, and watch our stars perform. FREE EVENT! Reservations encouraged. More details soon.

Visit Website

Sat, June 1

8PM / $20 - $45
Get Tickets

Young Professional patrons are between 22 and 35 years old. Valid ID required.

Upcoming Events

Sat, October 27, 8:00 PM

Figaro in Four Quartets

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 28, 2:00 PM

Figaro in Four Quartets

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 29, 7:00 PM

Bewitched, Bothered & Bewildered

Get Tickets →

Wed, November 28, 7:30 PM

Operetta Wonderland: The Magic of Victor Herbert

Get Tickets →

Sat, December 1, 11:00 AM

Cri-Cri - The Mexican Singing Cricket

Get Tickets →

Sat, December 1, 8:00 PM

Operetta Wonderland: The Magic of Victor Herbert

Get Tickets →

Sun, December 2, 2:00 PM

Operetta Wonderland: The Magic of Victor Herbert

Get Tickets →

Sat, December 8, 11:00 AM

Cri-Cri - The Mexican Singing Cricket

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 5, 8:00 PM

From U St to The Cotton Club

Get Tickets →

Sun, January 6, 2:00 PM

From U St to The Cotton Club

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 11, 8:00 PM

From U St to The Cotton Club

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 12, 8:00 PM

From U St to The Cotton Club

Get Tickets →

Sun, January 13, 2:00 PM

From U St to The Cotton Club

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 18, 8:00 PM

From U St to The Cotton Club

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 19, 8:00 PM

From U St to The Cotton Club

Get Tickets →

Sun, January 20, 2:00 PM

From U St to The Cotton Club

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 23, 8:00 PM

La Paloma - At The Wall

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 24, 2:00 PM

La Paloma - At The Wall

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 30, 8:00 PM

La Paloma - At The Wall

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 31, 2:00 PM

La Paloma - At The Wall

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 2, 2:00 PM

The Tale of Serse

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 8, 8:00 PM

The Tale of Serse

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 9, 2:00 PM

The Tale of Serse

Get Tickets →

2018-2019 Subscription: Best Value

Get Tickets →

2018-2019 Subscription: Pick Three

Get Tickets →