Fri Jul 20

Miles and Steve Brown Duo

Fri, July 20
8PM / $15
Get Tickets
The Mainstay

5753 Main St
Rock Hall, MD 21661

Miles and Steve Brown

$15 online $18 by phone/at the door

This father-son duo of bass and guitar brings their brand of swinging jazz to The Mainstay.

 Guitarist Steve Brown, is a Professor Emeritus of music and creator of the jazz studies, the jazz guitar, and classical guitar programs at Ithaca College.  Known widely for his playing as well as his career as an educator, he has released several successful records including Good Lines and Child's Play on Cafe records. Other releases as a guitarist/arranger under the leadership of Steve Gilmore include: I'm All Smiles, Silhouette, The Jazz Dancer and The Bass Player, and Reflections In The Night on Jazz Mania. He has also recorded four compact discs with drummer Danny D'Imperio, Blues For Philly Joe, Hip To It, and Glass Enclosure on V.S.O.P., and The Outlaw on The Sackville label. Steve has recorded with Chuck Israels' National Jazz Ensemble, Ray Brown's Great Big Band, Chuck Mangione, and the California based Full, Faith, & Credit Big Band. He is coauthor with Ray Brown of the educational text An Introduction to Jazz Improvisation.  His writing projects have included commissioned works for the Airmen of Note, the Celebration of The Arts Jazz Fest featuring Phil Woods, and the Harvard University Band

Bassist, composer, performer, and teacher Miles Brown comes from a musical family, and began playing the bass at an early age. He earned a Doctorate in Jazz Performance from Eastman in 2012.  A versatile musician, he is the bassist for the new music ensemble Alarm Will Sound, and has had his compositions performed at Carnegie Hall and Lincoln Center.  Miles has performed with jazz notables Regina Carter, Dave Ballou, John Mosca, Bill Goodwin, Bill Dobbins, Ben Monder, Joe Magnarelli, Walt Weiskopf, Gary Smulyan, Sam Rivers, Steve Wilson, and Harold Danko. An avid jazz educator as well as performer, Miles has served Director of Jazz at Cornell University, Oakland University and recently joined the faculty of the University of Delaware as Instructor of Double Bass and Jazz.

Visit Website

Fri, July 20

8PM / $15
Get Tickets

Printing tickets is optional. Your name will appear on a list at the box office.

Upcoming Events

Mon, July 23, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday Featuring Joe Holt and guests Max Murray and Frank Russo

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 28, 8:00 PM

Chaise Lounge at The Mainstay

Get Tickets →

Mon, July 30, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday featuring Joe Holt and guest Scott Silbert

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 2, 8:00 PM

RUNA returns to The Mainstay!

Get Tickets →

Mon, August 6, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday featuring Joe Holt and guests Van Williamson & Tom Anthony

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 11, 8:00 PM

Benefit for Guys and Doll

Get Tickets →

Mon, August 13, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday featuring Joe Holt and guests Holly Lane and Mike McShane

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 18, 8:00 PM

Nasar Abadey Trio

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 19, 4:00 PM

Sing a Song for Owen

Get Tickets →

Mon, August 20, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday featuring Joe Holt in a SOLO SHOW

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 25, 8:00 PM

Reggie Harris

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 31, 8:00 PM

The Bumper Jacksons

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 1, 6:00 PM

Phil Dutton and the Alligators-FREE at Java Rock

Get Tickets →

Mon, September 3, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday featuring Joe Holt and Beth McDonald

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 6, 8:00 PM

Joshua Espinoza Trio

Get Tickets →

Mon, September 10, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday featuring Joe Holt and guests Tom Baldwin and Aggie Brown

Get Tickets →

Mon, September 17, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday featuring Joe Holt and guest Nevin Dawson

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 22, 8:00 PM

Cowboys and Frenchmen

Get Tickets →

Mon, September 24, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday featuring Joe Holt and guest Steve Herberman

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 1, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday featuring Joe Holt and guest Marsha Gillam

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 6, 8:00 PM

Steve Giordano

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 8, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday: Joe Holt, Ben Bennington, Ford Schumann, and Deb Campbell

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 15, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday featuring Joe Holt with guest Vince Lardear

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 18, 8:00 PM

Low Lily

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 20, 8:00 PM

Juanito Pascual New Trio

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 22, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday featuring Joe Holt with guest Barbara Ferris

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 29, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Joe Holt and guests Jodie Littleton and Pres Harding

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 16, 7:00 PM

Frank Vignola Returns to The Mainstay

Get Tickets →