Sat Sep 12

The Joey Alexander Trio

Sat, September 12
10PM / $55
Get Tickets
Blues Alley

1073 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007

Joey Alexander

A funny thing happened to Joey Alexander over the past five years, a whirlwind period during which he became the most brilliantly precocious talent in jazz history—that is, a renowned festival and concert-hall headliner; the youngest musician ever nominated for a Grammy Award in a jazz category; and a media favorite who’s earned a profile on 60 Minutes, a front-page profile in the New York Times and other premier coverage.

 

As heard on WARNA, his new major-label Verve Records debut, he’s simply become one of the most expressive and thrilling pianist-composers currently at work in jazz. Alexander’s precocity can still stun concertgoers, but his music, including original work and personalized interpretations of great songs, has now taken its rightful place in the spotlight.

 

Translating as “color” from Alexander’s native language of Bahasa, WARNA follows four Motéma Music albums that garnered the pianist three Grammy nominations and such honors as historic critics’ and readers’ poll victories in DownBeat and JazzTimes. But whereas those recordings were documents of an extraordinary young musician in development, WARNA is primarily a collection of reflective, moving new music by an experienced, confident bandleader.

Visit Website
Watch Video

Sat, September 12

10PM / $55
Get Tickets

*Please note:
1. Final sale, no refunds, not transferable.
2. $12 food/beverage minimum per person not included in ticket price.
3. Seating first come at the door. Doors open at the earliest of 6 PM & 9:45 PM respectively.
4. Photography or Recording of any kind is prohibited during the performance.
5. Keep conversation to a minimum during the performance.

Upcoming Events

Fri, July 3, 8:00 PM

Eric Felten Quartet "Songs of WWII"

Buy a Stream Pass →

Fri, July 3, 10:00 PM

Eric Felten Jazz Orchestra

Get Tickets →

Wed, July 8, 8:00 PM

Karen Linette

Buy a Live Stream Pass →

Wed, July 15, 8:00 PM

Hot Club of Baltimore

Get Tickets →

Wed, July 15, 10:00 PM

Hot Club of Baltimore

Get Tickets →

Wed, July 22, 8:00 PM

Tyra Levone

Get Tickets →

Wed, July 22, 10:00 PM

Tyra Levone

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 1, 8:00 PM

Miki Howard

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 1, 10:00 PM

Miki Howard

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 2, 8:00 PM

Miki Howard

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 2, 10:00 PM

Miki Howard

Get Tickets →

Tue, August 4, 8:00 PM

Unit 3 Deep

Get Tickets →

Tue, August 4, 10:00 PM

Unit 3 Deep

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 6, 8:00 PM

Jeff Kashiwa

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 6, 10:00 PM

Jeff Kashiwa

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 7, 8:00 PM

Eric Darius

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 7, 10:00 PM

Eric Darius

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 8, 8:00 PM

Melba Moore

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 8, 10:00 PM

Melba Moore

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 9, 8:00 PM

Melba Moore

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 9, 10:00 PM

Melba Moore

Get Tickets →

Tue, August 11, 8:00 PM

Got My Own Sound Band

Get Tickets →

Tue, August 11, 10:00 PM

Got My Own Sound Band

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 13, 8:00 PM

Sy Smith

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 13, 10:00 PM

Sy Smith

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 14, 8:00 PM

Sy Smith

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 14, 10:00 PM

Sy Smith

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 15, 8:00 PM

Art Sherrod Jr.

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 15, 10:00 PM

Art Sherrod Jr.

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 16, 8:00 PM

Art Sherrod Jr.

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 16, 10:00 PM

Art Sherrod Jr.

Get Tickets →