Fri Apr 6

Jeff Lorber Fusion

Fri, April 6
8PM / $40
Get Tickets
Nighttown

12387 Cedar Road
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106

Jeff Lorber Fusion

Grammy Winning Piano and Keyboard Artist and Fusion Legend returns to Nighttown for 2 Big Shows!

Trailblazing pianist, composer, producer and bandleader Jeff Lorber is a consummate artist who continues to push himself to new plateaus. A groundbreaking Fender Rhodes pioneer along with the likes of Herbie Hancock, Joe Sample and Bob James, Lorber has triumphed as one of the most innovative musical minds in contemporary jazz. The multi Grammy-nominated pianist’s newest CD is a sterling example of his expansive musical roots, masterfully crafted harmonic and melodic sophistication, irresistible finger-poppin’ grooves and intricate rhythmic sense. “I came up with the name Prototype because we are always trying to up our game and come up with new exciting music that could be a prototype or innovative harbinger for the future of our musical style,” says the LA based pianist. Lorber, a Berklee College of Music alum who formerly majored in Chemistry at Boston College goes full throttle on Prototype, orchestrating like an alchemist in the lab concocting a majestic elixir of jazz, soul, funk, pop, R&B and gospel.

Jeff Lorber’s Fusion came to life in the 70s when the pianist attended Berklee College of Music. “I was listening to Miles Davis and Bitches Brew and the beginning of great fusion bands like Mahavishnu Orchestra, Weather Report and Return to Forever,” reflects Lorber. “There were also artists like Herbie Hancock, The Crusaders and Grover Washington, who pioneered a more melodic and funky type of sound. Not to mention the fantastic music being made in R&B and pop music like Earth Wind and Fire and Tower of Power.” Lorber envisioned Jeff Lorber Fusion a second generation to these fusion bands that were more R&B and melody oriented. A true clinician, Lorber has made it a point to study the long line of modern jazz pianists since 1945. “Herbie Hancock and Chick Corea have been major influences but I had to go back and try to figure out who they listened to and were inspired by,” says Lorber. “Some of these icons that come to mind are Bill Evans, Thelonious Monk, McCoy Tyner and Bud Powell.” He adds, “I also can’t forget all of the pianists who played with Miles Davis such as Red Garland, Wynton Kelly, Tommy Flanagan and Horace Silver.”

Visit Website
Watch Video

Fri, April 6

8PM / $40
Get Tickets

No need to make an additional table reservation - it's already included with these concert tickets!! You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional terms and conditions.

Upcoming Events

Thu, February 22, 8:00 PM

Lucky Peterson & Tamara Tramell

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 23, 8:30 PM

Sammy DeLeon Latin Jazz Sextet

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 2, 8:30 PM

Charlie Christopherson

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 3, 8:30 PM

Laila Biali

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 4, 7:00 PM

Eddie Baccus Sr. Quartet

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 7, 7:00 PM

Paul Booth Quartet

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 8, 8:00 PM

Camila Meza "Traces" Quartet

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 9, 8:00 PM

Forecast

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 9, 8:30 PM

Tamir Hendelman Trio

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 10, 8:30 PM

Greg Bandy / Tomas Janzon International Quartet

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 16, 8:30 PM

Jake Boland

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 17, 1:00 PM

St Patrick's Day with The New Barleycorn

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 17, 5:30 PM

St Patrick's Day with The New Barleycorn

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 17, 8:30 PM

St Patrick's Day with The New Barleycorn

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 18, 7:00 PM

"Angel of the Night" Barbara Barrett & Archie McElrath

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 23, 8:30 PM

The Numbers Band (15-60-75)

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 24, 8:30 PM

Richie Cole & Sammy DeLeon Latin Jazz Septet

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 25, 7:00 PM

Journeywork

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 26, 7:00 PM

"54 Below Concert": Baldwin Wallace Musical Theater Department Senior Class

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 27, 7:00 PM

Charlie Hunter

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 30, 8:30 PM

Songwriters in the Round

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 31, 8:30 PM

Dane Vannatter

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 5, 8:00 PM

Svetlana & The Delancey Five

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 6, 10:00 PM

Jeff Lorber Fusion

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 7, 8:30 PM

Frank Vignola & Vinny Raniolo

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 8, 7:00 PM

Frank Vignola & Vinny Raniolo

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 21, 8:30 PM

David Ake HUMANITIES Quintet

Get Tickets →