Fri Mar 13

Gerald Skillern w/David Thomas Trio

Fri, March 13
8:30PM / $15
Get Tickets
Nighttown

12387 Cedar Road
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106

Gerald Skillern w/David Thomas Trio

Top Flight Jazz/R&B Vocalist Gerald Skillern joins forces with Pianist David Thomas & Trio Live at Nighttown!

Gerald Skillern, born in New York City, was brought to Cleveland by his parents, a
“bapticostal” Sunday morning soprano from Savannah, GA and a soldier-musician who played
seven brass instruments, upright bass and bass guitar. Gerald was raised in a household that
echoed light rock, gospel, soul, R&B and more! His father could be heard practicing all genres
of music, which rubbed off on Gerald. His mother sings in her church and a community choirs -
giving him a love for choral music.

His multifaceted musical background allows him to be versatile in his approach to how he sings.
Currently, Gerald attends South Euclid United Church of Christ as a choir and praise team
member. Gerald has performed at Nighttown and the Bop Stop. He also has sung background
vocals on projects by Darren Thomas and Eddie Howard and has more than 20 years of choral directing experience.

Dave Thomas is a most talented piano and organ player. A native of Youngstown, Ohio, Thomas was an original member of the R&B group, "Sweet Thunder". He has also performed with numerous artists including the late James Cleveland, Dizzy Gillespie, Albert Ayler, Jean Carn, David Ruffin, and Grover Washington. His musical involvement also includes musical theater as a writer, performer, and musical director in performances such as "The Living Cross," "The Audition," and "Black Nativity," which have played throughout the United States and Canada. He is also a gifted educator, having worked at The Cleveland School of the Arts, Cuyahoga Community College, Cleveland State University, and Case Western Reserve University. He is the co-author of a book entitled, "A Child's First Book of Spirituals," which is the recipient of the Coretta Scott King Award.

Presently, Dave is a music teacher with the Cleveland Board of Education School District, Musical Staff member of The Southeast Seventh Day Adventist, Faculty member of The Cleveland State University, and Minister of Music at St. Timothy Baptist Church. He earned his undergraduate and graduate Music degrees from Cleveland State, Cleveland Institute of Music, Case Western Reserve University, and postgraduate work at the Royal Holloway College in London, England.

Visit Website

Fri, March 13

8:30PM / $15
Get Tickets

No need to make an additional table reservation - it's already included with these concert tickets!! You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional terms and conditions.

Upcoming Events

Thu, February 20, 7:00 PM

Dominick Farinacci & Spirit of the Groove

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 21, 8:30 PM

Forecast

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 22, 8:30 PM

Alice Blumenfeld - ABREPASO's Tablao Flamenco

Get Tickets →

Mon, February 24, 7:00 PM

Baldwin Wallace Musical Theatre

Get Tickets →

Tue, February 25, 7:30 PM

Jiggs Whigham & Friends

Get Tickets →

Wed, February 26, 7:00 PM

Ethnic Heritage Ensemble

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 27, 8:00 PM

Lionel Loueke

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 28, 8:30 PM

Eric Everett Jazz Quintet featuring Charlene Smythe

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 29, 7:00 PM

Cyrille Aimée

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 29, 7:30 PM

Neil's Leap Year Dance Party!

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 29, 9:00 PM

Cyrille Aimée

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 1, 11:00 AM

"A Musical Feast" - Benefit for Cleveland Hts High School Band & Orchestra

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 1, 7:00 PM

Debi Lewin "Marquis Showcase"

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 2, 7:00 PM

Hudson HS Big Band

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 3, 7:00 PM

Westbound Situation

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 6, 8:30 PM

Nanny & Dani Assis Brazilian Sextet + Moises Borges

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 7, 7:00 PM

Bill Rudman's "Seize the Day"

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 8, 2:00 PM

Bill Rudman's "Seize the Day"

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 8, 7:00 PM

Newberry & Verch

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 12, 8:00 PM

Joe Hunter & Pete Cavano

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 14, 8:30 PM

Tim Lekan plays Cole Porter Featuring Celine Opdycke

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 16, 7:00 PM

Disney @ Nighttown - Baldwin Wallace Musical Theater

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 17, 1:00 PM

St Patrick's Day with The New Barleycorn

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 17, 5:30 PM

St Patrick's Day with The New Barleycorn

Get Tickets →

Tue, March 17, 8:00 PM

St Patrick's Day with The New Barleycorn

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 18, 7:00 PM

Chip Stephens / Glenn Wilson Duo

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 19, 8:00 PM

Howie Smith & Organ Ism

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 20, 8:30 PM

Beatles Tribute w/ Hard Day's Night

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 21, 8:30 PM

Beatles Tribute w/ Hard Day's Night

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 22, 7:00 PM

Dominick Farinacci "Spirit of the Groove"

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 27, 8:30 PM

JazzWorks

Get Tickets →