Sat May 11

HOT MONKEY LOVE

Sat, May 11
9:30PM / $20 | $3.40 Fees
Get Tickets
Triad Theater

158 West 72nd Street
New York, NY 10023

Hot Monkey Love

Hot Monkey Love was founded by the late Frank LaRocka in 2003 as a tough Blues and R&B outfit to gig on the NYC blues scene.

The band has released two CD’s to date: Primate Blues, and Speakin’ Evil (both on the BrotherMonk imprint).

The Monks (as they are apt to be affectionately abbreviated) have since evolved into their current lineup: Lead vocalist Jack O’Neill hails from Florida. He began his professional career with the Painted Faces, and released several regional hits on Capital Records before moving to New York City, where he formed Beau Jack with Earl Slick. He has fronted several recording acts, such as the Rough Cuts (with Arthur Neilson) and Bad Luck & Trouble. He’s worked with artists such as Scotty Moore and D.J. Fontana, Luther Vandross and David Sanborn.

Guitarist Dee Meyer hit the NYC scene at the height of the 70’s punk movement, and has worked with locals the M-80s and reggae act the Rydim Squad before forming blues act Catdaddy Jones, releasing the CD Late Night In The Doghouse on the Fountainbleu label. Dee joined Hot Monkey Love in 2006.

Drummer Eddie ‘The Elf’ Piotrowski was a founding member of the Colors, as well as acts like the Dan Whitely Band.
Guitarist V.D. King is a songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, producer, engineer, and front-man of his own band, Better Off Dead. He is wanted in seven states and two British territories. He will not eat beans.

Carl Lorentzen cut his teeth playing bass in the NYC blues jam scene, playing for several years in house bands with Big Ed Sullivan. He is a member of Better Off Dead, as well as Arthur Neilson’s (Shemekia Copeland) Kick-Ass Band, and was an original member of the Slippery Chickens.

Doors at 9.    Show at 9:30pm.

Approx Running Time: 75 Minutes
Genre: Live Music, Rock/Blues Band, Storytelling

Please Note: the venue has a 2-beverage minimum per person. 

Visit Website

Sat, May 11

9:30PM / $20 | $3.40 Fees
Get Tickets

Please note: There is a 2 drink minimum at the theater. You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional purchase policies.

Upcoming Events

Sun, April 21, 2:30 PM

NiCori Youth Cabaret Showcase

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 24, 7:00 PM

BOUND FOR BROADWAY

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 26, 6:30 PM

InspiredWordNYC's Soundz & Vibez

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 26, 9:30 PM

Mickey's Uncut Hits: A Raunchy Cabaret

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 27, 7:00 PM

Funny Women of a Certain Age

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 27, 9:30 PM

MOUTH (vol.1) BY MICTASTIC

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 28, 3:00 PM

Shmoozin' with Slutsky & Matsuki

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 2, 7:00 PM

Adelaide Mestre's TOP DRAWER

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 5, 2:00 PM

The Current's 13th Birthday Show: Singo De Mayo!

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 5, 7:00 PM

Wasted Girl

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 7, 6:00 PM

BENEFIT FOR HAMPTONS SUMMER SONGBOOK BY THE SEA

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 8, 7:00 PM

Doris Dear's 10 year Celebration

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 9, 7:00 PM

The Rainbow Connection: A Tribute to Our Divas

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 10, 7:00 PM

Dorothy Bishop in THE DOZEN DIVAS

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 11, 2:30 PM

Minda Larsen Vocal Studio Recital

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 11, 7:00 PM

Elvis and Patsy Cline - Back in Baby's Arms Tour 2024

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 12, 2:00 PM

I Love My Momma! A Soulful Mother's Day Concert

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 13, 7:00 PM

Lifting the Curtain on Mental Health

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 15, 7:00 PM

Bette Davis Ain't For Sissies

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 17, 6:30 PM

Funny For Fundraising 3

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 18, 1:30 PM

CHEESE FRIES & CHILI DIPS

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 18, 7:00 PM

Pera'da Zaman

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 18, 9:30 PM

The Triad All-Star Stand Up Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 19, 2:00 PM

Pera'da Zaman

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 19, 5:00 PM

Eternally Elvis starring Mike Moat

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 21, 7:00 PM

Between Fire & Ice - A Diabolical Weimar Berlin Kabarett

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 23, 7:00 PM

Celebrating the Life of Maren Waxenberg in Song

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 24, 7:00 PM

Vivienne Aerts Live in Concert!

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 29, 7:00 PM

BOUND FOR BROADWAY

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 31, 7:00 PM

Three-Time Grammy Winner Gustavo Casenave Solo

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 1, 2:00 PM

Chris Ruggiero: Up Close & Personal

Get Tickets →