Sun Mar 15

The Izmirlian Quintet

Sun, March 15
8PM / $10
Get Tickets
Twins Jazz

1344 U. St. NW
Washington, DC 20009

The Izmirlian Quintet

Grant Izmirlian is a saxophonist and composer based in the DC metro area. Originally from St. Louis Missouri, Grant studied saxophone and jazz performance with Paul DeMarinis of Webster University. Since moving to the DC metro in 1999, he’s played in local clubs and private gigs with a variety of local luminaries including Butch Warren and Webster Young and international artists such as Ted Curson.

Samuel Munguia, pianist, a native of El Salvador, studied classical guitar and piano at the National Center For The Arts in San Salvador. Later studied Jazz Piano Performance and arranging at the University of the District of Columbia. Munguia has performed at Blues Alley, Twins Jazz, The Millennium Stage at the Kennedy Center and regularly at Jojo's, Bossa Bistro and Columbia Station. Has performed with renowned artists such as Alex Acuña, Alfredo Mojica, Lucini Brothers, and Nestor Torres.

Russell Byron, bassist, is a native of Melbourne, Australia. He has been gigging in the DC area for the past 15 years with some of the best artists on the local jazz scene, and played with a variety of ensembles in a variety of idioms – swing bands, R&B, Rockabilly. In addition, he has an encyclopedic knowledge of jazz recordings and will call tunes by artists you’ve never heard of and then tell you a story about them.

Bruce Jacobs, creative drummer and percussionist, is a native of Rochester, NY. He studied with Dave Mancini and has performed and led his own ensembles in venues from New York City to Philadelphia to Washington, DC. He is a nationally-published author with a degree from Harvard University. His playing credits include Twisted Circle, Vaughn Ambrose, Grant Izmirlian, MGB Power Trio, Rodney Kelly, roycrosse, and many others.

 

Sun, March 15

8PM / $10
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Wed, January 29, 8:00 PM

Maddy Curtis

Get Tickets →

Thu, January 30, 8:00 PM

Neck Barham

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 31, 9:00 PM

Max Light

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 31, 11:00 PM

Max Light

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 1, 9:00 PM

Max Light

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 1, 11:00 PM

Max Light

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 2, 8:00 PM

Takoma Jazz

Get Tickets →

Wed, February 5, 8:00 PM

Joe Vetter Quartet

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 6, 8:00 PM

THE TWINS JAZZ ORCHESTRA

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 7, 9:00 PM

Michael Thomas Quintet

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 7, 11:00 PM

Michael Thomas Quintet

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 8, 9:00 PM

Michael Thomas Quintet

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 8, 11:00 PM

Michael Thomas Quintet

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 9, 8:00 PM

Bobby Muncy Quartet feat. Elliott Smith

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 9, 8:00 PM

Radio JazzHead Project

Get Tickets →

Wed, February 12, 8:00 PM

Etna Cantora and Rob Orwin

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 13, 8:00 PM

Chris Bates

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 14, 9:00 PM

Delight Your Valentine with Eugenie Jones

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 14, 11:00 PM

Delight Your Valentine with Eugenie Jones

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 15, 9:00 PM

Delight Your Valentine with Eugenie Jones

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 15, 11:00 PM

Delight Your Valentine with Eugenie Jones

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 16, 8:00 PM

Chip Shelton

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 20, 7:30 PM

Jazz Band Master Class

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 21, 9:00 PM

Reginald Cyntje

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 21, 11:00 PM

Reginald Cyntje

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 22, 9:00 PM

Reginald Cyntje

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 22, 11:00 PM

Reginald Cyntje

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 23, 8:00 PM

Michael Sarian Acoustic Quartet

Get Tickets →

Wed, February 26, 8:00 PM

BSQ

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 27, 8:00 PM

Paul Piper Sextet

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 28, 9:00 PM

Project Natale

Get Tickets →