Sat Mar 31

Todd Marcus Jazz Orchestra

Sat, March 31
8PM / $10 - $20
Get Tickets
An die Musik Live!

409 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, MD 21201

Todd Marcus Jazz Orchestra

"Marcus...is clearly what the jazz polls call a "rising star" - as a composer-arranger and as a bass clarinetist. In Marcus' hands, the bass clarinet is no longer a specialty instrument. Its unique timbral richness becomes incisive, fully capable of forceful expression." - JazzTimes, August 2015 

"Listeners won't have any trouble recognizing Marcus's compelling gifts for composing and arranging." - Washington Post, May 2015

"Todd Marcus is not only one of the great individualists in jazz, he's also a great composer. There’ve been some amazing big band jazz albums issued in the past few years, but none as good as this since Darcy James Argue’s Secret Society released their withering anti-gentrification broadside Brooklyn Babylon in 2012. As happened with that album, time may judge Blues for Tahrir to be a classic." --New York Music Daily, May 2015

"Baltimore-based Todd Marcus, the virtuoso bass clarinetist and composer, is a master of straight-ahead jazz.”  Baltimore Sun, January 2014

Todd Marcus - bass clarinet
Greg Tardy - tenor sax
Brent Birckhead - flute & alto sax
Russell Kirk - alto sax
Alex Norris - trumpet
Alan Ferber - trombone
Xavier Davis - piano
Jeff Reed - bass
Eric Kennedy - drums

A nonet of six horns (bass clarinet, alto saxophone/flute, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone, trumpet, trombone), piano, bass, drums and optional vocalist with musicians from Baltimore, New York, Washington, DC, Philadelphia, and Tennessee. The group’s instrumentation, compositions, and arrangements create a rich sound with music that incorporates straight-ahead jazz with other influences from classical to Middle-Eastern themes. The music explores a range of moods while swinging hard and showcasing the diverse soloists in the ensemble.

Tickets: $20 in advance/$23 at door; $10 full-time students with ID

Visit Website
Watch Video

Sat, March 31

8PM / $10 - $20
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Thu, January 18, 8:00 PM

Rhythminic Accents

Get Tickets →

Thu, January 18, 9:30 PM

Rhythminic Accents

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 19, 8:00 PM

Sonic Trip Masters All Stars

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 19, 9:30 PM

Sonic Trip Masters All Stars

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 20, 8:00 PM

SAUD! The Music & Influence Of McCoy Tyner

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 20, 9:30 PM

SAUD! The Music & Influence Of McCoy Tyner

Get Tickets →

Sun, January 21, 5:00 PM

Ayreheart

Get Tickets →

Mon, January 22, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam hosted by Alex Meadow and Joshua Espinoza

Get Tickets →

Wed, January 24, 8:00 PM

Joshua Davis' Love Salad

Get Tickets →

Thu, January 25, 8:00 PM

Trio Sefardi

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 26, 8:00 PM

The Joshua Espinoza Trio

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 26, 9:30 PM

The Joshua Espinoza Trio

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 27, 8:00 PM

A weekend with Marilyn Crispell

Get Tickets →

Sun, January 28, 5:00 PM

A weekend with Marilyn Crispell

Get Tickets →

Sun, January 28, 7:00 PM

A weekend with Marilyn Crispell

Get Tickets →

Mon, January 29, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Mondays

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 1, 8:00 PM

Madeleine & Salomon: A Woman's Journey

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 2, 8:00 PM

John Lamkin III Trio with Christie Dashiell Celebrates Black History Month

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 2, 9:30 PM

John Lamkin III Trio with Christie Dashiell Celebrates Black History Month

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 3, 7:30 PM

Folkal Point: Caleb Stine

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 4, 3:00 PM

Irene Jalenti - Here, There and Everywhere: An Homage to the Beatles

Get Tickets →

Mon, February 5, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam hosted by Alex Meadow and Joshua Espinoza

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 8, 8:00 PM

Kostov-Valkov Classical Duo

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 9, 8:00 PM

Benito Gonzalez Solo Jazz Piano

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 10, 8:00 PM

Ronnie Burrage Trio, featuring Michel Wierba

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 10, 9:30 PM

Ronnie Burrage Trio, featuring Michel Wierba

Get Tickets →

Mon, February 12, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Mondays

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 18, 5:00 PM

Roots Cafe Singer-Songwriter Series

Get Tickets →

Mon, February 19, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam hosted by Alex Meadow and Joshua Espinoza

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 3, 7:30 PM

Folkal Point: Stone Hill All-Stars

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 4, 5:00 PM

Roots Cafe Singer-Songwriter Series

Get Tickets →