Wed Aug 25

WOW Presents : Rebekah Meldrum

Wed, August 25
6:30PM / $15 - $25
Get Tickets
The Jazz Kitchen

5377 N. College Avenue
Indianapolis, IN 46220

Rebekah Meldrum

Every track on Rebekah Meldrum's self-titled debut is steeped in the love and the passion she has for the genre. It's almost a religious reverence, which makes perfect sense considering she's a preacher's daughter who grew up singing gospel in church. "Gospel and blues have always been so closely related," she opines. "It's like there's a fork in the musical road, one way, it's the gospel, and the other is the blues. I was exposed to Koko Taylor when I was eight years old, and right then, I knew which road I was going to take." But her precision is by no means cut and dried or predictable; she is methodical, if not hypnotic, weaving a spell across seven songs that reflect the multi-decade journey it's taken for her to get here as much as the destination itself. From the way the very first notes drop you right into the delta, through excursions that go from the backcountry to steamy, inner-city grooves and all the way through to New Orleans-inspired horns that wind the album down, she is in firm command of every aspect of the songwriting process. "Everything took a big turn when I stopped writing on guitar and started singing the melodies in my head," she relates, " even the guitar riffs and the solos. Then Paul (longtime collaborator, guitarist/singer Paul Holdman) translates it all and embellishes it with his own nuances—when we put it together like that, the magic happens." It is magic, but it's no illusion. Rebekah Meldrum is a master magician who's just beginning to reveal her bag of tricks.

Wed, August 25

6:30PM / $15 - $25
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Wed, June 16, 6:30 PM

WOW Presents : Soul Shine featuring Rhonda Baker

Get Tickets →

Wed, June 16, 9:00 PM

The Shed - Hosted by Kenny Phelps

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 18, 7:30 PM

SleepyNap presents Juneteenth Weekend

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 18, 10:00 PM

SleepyNap presents Juneteenth Weekend

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 19, 7:30 PM

SleepyNap presents Juneteenth Weekend

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 19, 10:00 PM

SleepyNap presents Juneteenth Weekend

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 20, 6:00 PM

The Phelps Connection • Father's Day Celebration

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 20, 8:30 PM

The Phelps Connection • Father's Day Celebration

Get Tickets →

Mon, June 21, 6:30 PM

Jazz Jam Session

Get Tickets →

Wed, June 23, 6:30 PM

WOW Presents : Melodies of Ibeji featuring Okara Imani + Allison Victoria

Get Tickets →

Wed, June 23, 9:00 PM

The Shed - Hosted by Kenny Phelps

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 25, 7:00 PM

Cherryl Hayes + The John Hill Trio

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 25, 9:30 PM

Cherryl Hayes + The John Hill Trio

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 26, 7:00 PM

Indy Saxophone Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 26, 9:30 PM

Indy Saxophone Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 27, 6:00 PM

Bluewater Kings Band Showcase

Get Tickets →

Mon, June 28, 6:30 PM

Jazz Jam Session

Get Tickets →

Wed, June 30, 6:30 PM

WOW Presents : Laney Wilson

Get Tickets →

Wed, June 30, 9:00 PM

The Shed - Hosted by Kenny Phelps

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 2, 7:30 PM

Staci McCrackin

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 2, 10:00 PM

Staci McCrackin

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 3, 7:00 PM

KSU Alumni Presents : Sean Dobbins

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 3, 9:30 PM

KSU Alumni Presents : Sean Dobbins

Get Tickets →

Wed, July 7, 6:30 PM

WOW Presents : Rebecca Rafla

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 9, 7:00 PM

Emmaline

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 9, 9:30 PM

Emmaline

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 10, 7:30 PM

Pavel & Direct Contact Latin Jazz Album Release Party

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 10, 10:00 PM

Pavel & Direct Contact Latin Jazz Album Release Party

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 11, 7:00 PM

Kent Hickey

Get Tickets →

Wed, July 14, 6:30 PM

WOW Presents : Doug Henthorn

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 16, 7:00 PM

Brandon Meeks Quintet

Get Tickets →