Fri Apr 2

Steve Allee - The Jazz Kitchen Anniversary Celebration

Fri, April 2
9:30PM / $20 - $30
Get Tickets
The Jazz Kitchen

5377 N. College Avenue
Indianapolis, IN 46220

Steve Allee

An all-star line-up of great jazz performers. A great evening of straight-ahead swingin' originals and jazz classics.

Indianapolis' own, pianist, composer, educator Steve Allee is known for his continued contributions to "The Indianapolis Sound." His playing style has a touch, sparkling clarity and improvisational variations reminiscent of the late Bill Evans, as well as a very strong blues influence that Steve credits to his exposure to Buddy Montgomery and Horace Silver.

Steve Allee - piano

Kenny Phelps - drums

Nick Tucker - bass

Sophie Faught - saxophone

John Raymond - trumpet

A prolific composer and performer Allee has recently been hard at work as part of bass legend Rufus Reid's Trio (JJ Johnson, Nancy Wilson, Eddie Harris) in addition to his teaching duties as jazz piano professor at CCM in Cincinatti, OH

All of his career facets have blended into a distinct musical style that has a very strong visual, almost cinematic flavor because of his skill in capturing or reinforcing important moods or visual elements that inspire his projects.

A native son and longtime resident of Indianapolis, Indiana, Steve was fortunate to grow up in the hometown of many jazz greats, including brothers Wes, Buddy and Monk Montgomery, Slide Hampton, J.J. Johnson, David Baker, Freddie Hubbard and Melvin Rhyne, among others.

Fri, April 2

9:30PM / $20 - $30
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Mon, March 8, 6:30 PM

Jazz Jam Session

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 10, 6:30 PM

Staci McCrackin

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 10, 9:00 PM

The Shed - Hosted by Kenny Phelps

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 12, 7:00 PM

Rob Dixon & Triology

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 12, 9:30 PM

Rob Dixon & Triology

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 13, 7:00 PM

Yvonne Allu

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 13, 9:30 PM

Yvonne Allu

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 14, 7:00 PM

Celtic Rain

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 15, 6:30 PM

Jazz Jam Session

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 17, 6:30 PM

Rebekah Meldrum

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 17, 9:00 PM

The Shed - Hosted by Kenny Phelps

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 19, 7:00 PM

Monika Herzig/ Janiece Jaffe and Friends present The World of Joni Mitchell

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 19, 9:30 PM

Monika Herzig/ Janiece Jaffe and Friends present The World of Joni Mitchell

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 20, 7:00 PM

AshLee Baskin - Black Thread : The Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 20, 9:30 PM

AshLee Baskin - Black Thread : The Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 21, 6:30 PM

Nancy Wilson / Cannonball Adderley Tribute - Ball State Faculty Ensemble

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 22, 6:30 PM

Jazz Jam Session

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 24, 6:30 PM

Joshua Thompson - Standard Rep: Updating the Classical Playbook

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 24, 9:00 PM

The Shed - Hosted by Kenny Phelps

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 26, 7:00 PM

IU Jazz Faculty led by John Raymond

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 26, 9:30 PM

IU Jazz Faculty led by John Raymond

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 27, 7:00 PM

The Groove Quintet

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 27, 9:30 PM

The Groove Quintet

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 28, 6:30 PM

Wes Montgomery Birthday Tribute feat. Joel Tucker + Steve Weakley

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 29, 6:30 PM

Jazz Jam Session

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 31, 6:30 PM

Blackberry Jam - Mariah Carey Tribute

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 31, 9:00 PM

The Shed - Hosted by Kenny Phelps

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 2, 7:00 PM

Steve Allee - The Jazz Kitchen Anniversary Celebration

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 3, 7:00 PM

Brett Wiscons

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 3, 9:30 PM

Brett Wiscons

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 7, 6:30 PM

Tommy Baldwin

Get Tickets →