Fri Jul 26

Stephen Philip Harvey Octet

Fri, July 26
7:30PM / $30 | $2.79 Fees
Get Tickets
The Durham Jazz Workshop / Sharp 9 Gallery

4608 Industry Lane, Suite L
Durham, NC 27713

Stephen Philip Harvey Octet

“Sophisticated accessibility! When I listen to Stephen Harvey’s music, that’s what hear. Thoughtful construction of complex structures and orchestrations that take the listener on a beautiful sonic ride without speaking over their heads. A beautiful pairing of the complex and the elementary.”-Trumpeter/Composer/Bandleader/Educator Sean Jones

Stephen Philip Harvey – tenor saxophone

Thomas Shchinabeck – alto saxophone

Marques Carroll – trumpet

Reggie Watkins  – trombone

Dan Bruce – guitar

Ben Tweedt – piano

Tony DePaolis – bass

DustinMay – drums

The Stephen Philip Harvey Octet (SPH8) is a collective with a rotating roster of dynamic musicians from the Mid-Atlantic and Midwest of the United States, showcasing their remarkable musicianship and playing the original compositions and arrangements of Stephen Philip Harvey. The music on their latest release, Elemental (Live), is inspired by the elements of water, air, earth, and fire. Fusing modern harmonies, driving vamps, and myriad textures, SPH8 brings these forces of nature from the composer’s imagination to an aural landscape. The album brilliantly displays Stephen Philip Harvey’s practice of weaving together his eclectic musical history, fusing jazz and classical elements with pop, funk, hip-hop, rock, and Gospel, making for a rich tapestry of sound unique to the SPH8.

Elemental (Live) was released on May 3, 2024, and its companion recording, Live at Radio Artifact, will be released on August 23, 2024, with dynamic arrangements of tunes by Wayne Shorter and Tim Green, and additional original compositions from this rising-star composer and  bandleader.

Visit Website
Watch Video

Fri, July 26

7:30PM / $30 | $2.79 Fees
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Sat, July 13, 7:30 PM

Nicole Mitchell Ensemble: A Certain Something

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 19, 7:30 PM

The Blackhawk Quintet

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 20, 7:30 PM

Lois Deloatch Gomes with Guest Vocalist, Jim Berry

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 27, 7:30 PM

Brad Walker Quartet

Get Tickets →

Tue, July 30, 7:30 PM

NCJRO

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 2, 7:30 PM

Tymas, Lile, Foureman & Taylor group

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 3, 7:30 PM

Angela Bingham Trio w/Grant Osborne & Scott Sawyer

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 9, 7:30 PM

Aaron Johnson Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 10, 7:30 PM

The Nichols-Templeton (TNT) Quartet.

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 15, 7:00 PM

Ryan Hanseler Quartet Ft. Quiana Lynell

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 17, 7:30 PM

Ernest Turner Qt w/Stephen Riley

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 23, 7:30 PM

Adithya Vaidhyan Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 24, 7:30 PM

Chrishawn Darby Quartet

Get Tickets →

Tue, August 27, 7:30 PM

NCJRO

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 30, 7:30 PM

Eric Williams Quintet

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 31, 7:30 PM

Jim Ketch Swingtet

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 6, 7:30 PM

Kevin Bales Quartet

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 13, 7:30 PM

Aaron Gross Group

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 14, 7:30 PM

Scott Sawyer Quintet

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 20, 7:30 PM

Actors Improv Theater presents "Word Jazz"

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 21, 7:30 PM

THRIO

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 22, 5:00 PM

Nicole Zuraitis

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 22, 7:00 PM

Nicole Zuraitis

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 27, 7:00 PM

Peter Lamb and the Wolves

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 27, 9:00 PM

Peter Lamb and the Wolves

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 4, 7:30 PM

Ilya Lushtak Trio

Get Tickets →