Fri Aug 23

Adithya Vaidhyan Quartet

Fri, August 23
7:30PM / $10 - $25 | $1.83 - $2.55 Fees
Get Tickets
The Durham Jazz Workshop / Sharp 9 Gallery

4608 Industry Lane, Suite L
Durham, NC 27713

Adithya Vaidhyan

10 years into his musical journey, Adithya Vaidhyan aims to break musical and cultural boundaries, cultivating a deeper meaning behind his sound. As a student at Williams College, Adithya is grateful for the opportunity to work closely with mentors and inspirational performers Kris Allen, Gregg August, Devesh Chandra, and Mike Kolodny. He is also extremely thankful for the mentorship of Jerry Bergonzi and JD Allen, both of whom have shared some of their time and wisdom with him.

In addition to playing in many ensembles at Williams (jazz ensembles, the Zambezi marimba band, Vive Latin American music ensemble, and various house party bands), Adithya also plays gigs regularly in the Berkshires with pianist Dave Bartley and guitarist Michael Junkins. As a capstone to his college education, Adithya was able to undertake an honors thesis that studied the groundbreaking music of the 1990’s Branford Marsalis Quartet through intensive study of the album Crazy People Music and conversation with Branford Marsalis himself. His work on his honors thesis as well as his diverse portfolio of compositions have earned Adithya the prestigious Hubbard Hutchinson Fellowship awarded to outstanding creative artists at Williams College. Having graduated from Williams College in June of 2024, Adithya is excited to be pursuing his Master's in Music at NYU Steinhardt in the Fall.

Back home in North Carolina, the Adithya Vaidhyan Quartet is Adithya’s pride and joy; the vehicle with which his authentic voice shines through. His quartet annually makes a pilgrimage to the Sharp 9 Gallery in Durham, the sanctuary of jazz that motivated Adithya to devote his life to music. It is here that Adithya shares his newest compositions and arrangements, inspired by different musical traditions from Bollywood to the Blues.

Adithya Vaidhyan - saxophone

Julian Lambert - piano

Peter Sumner - cello/electric cello.

Eli Thomas - drums

Fri, August 23

7:30PM / $10 - $25 | $1.83 - $2.55 Fees
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Sat, July 13, 7:30 PM

Nicole Mitchell Ensemble: A Certain Something

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 19, 7:30 PM

The Blackhawk Quintet

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 20, 7:30 PM

Lois Deloatch Gomes with Guest Vocalist, Jim Berry

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 26, 7:30 PM

Stephen Philip Harvey Octet

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 27, 7:30 PM

Brad Walker Quartet

Get Tickets →

Tue, July 30, 7:30 PM

NCJRO

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 2, 7:30 PM

Tymas, Lile, Foureman & Taylor group

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 3, 7:30 PM

Angela Bingham Trio w/Grant Osborne & Scott Sawyer

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 9, 7:30 PM

Aaron Johnson Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 10, 7:30 PM

The Nichols-Templeton (TNT) Quartet.

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 15, 7:00 PM

Ryan Hanseler Quartet Ft. Quiana Lynell

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 17, 7:30 PM

Ernest Turner Qt w/Stephen Riley

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 24, 7:30 PM

Chrishawn Darby Quartet

Get Tickets →

Tue, August 27, 7:30 PM

NCJRO

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 30, 7:30 PM

Eric Williams Quintet

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 31, 7:30 PM

Jim Ketch Swingtet

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 6, 7:30 PM

Kevin Bales Quartet

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 13, 7:30 PM

Aaron Gross Group

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 14, 7:30 PM

Scott Sawyer Quintet

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 20, 7:30 PM

Actors Improv Theater presents "Word Jazz"

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 21, 7:30 PM

THRIO

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 22, 5:00 PM

Nicole Zuraitis

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 22, 7:00 PM

Nicole Zuraitis

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 27, 7:00 PM

Peter Lamb and the Wolves

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 27, 9:00 PM

Peter Lamb and the Wolves

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 4, 7:30 PM

Ilya Lushtak Trio

Get Tickets →