Fri Nov 1

Betty Wright

Fri, November 1
8PM / $59.50 - $74.50
Get Tickets
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

Betty Wright

Betty Wright is a soul singer with deep gospel roots, a blast from the past straight to the present, the realest of the real. She influenced a generation of female singer-songwriters and continues to influence the world of R&B and hip hop who sample her classic songs. Born singing gospel with the family group The Echoes of Joy, Wright began singing R&B music as a youngster and released her first album "My First Time Around" with her first hit single "Girls Can't Do What Guys Can Do" at the age of 14. In 1971, Wright scored her biggest hit ever at the age of 17 with her signature song "Clean Up Woman", which reached #2 R&B and #6 Pop. In 1975, Wright had continued success with hit songs "Tonight is the Night", about a real life love affair that happened when Wright was a teenager, and "Where is the Love?", which won a Grammy for Best R&B Song.

Wright started her own record label, Ms. B Records in 1985 and made music history by being the first woman to have a gold record on her own label with the release of her album "Mother Wit" that she wrote, arranged and produced herself. The album featured one of her biggest hits in years, "No Pain No Gain", which reached #11 R&B, with Wright displaying her powerful upper register capabilities and seven-octave range.
In recent years, Wright had another hit song "Baby", a collaboration with her dear friend Angie Stone which garnered a Grammy nomination for Best Duet. Wright is also credited with co-producing two albums by Joss Stone which received multiple Grammy nominations, with vocal production on Diddy and Keyshia Cole’s Top 10 hit "Last Night", and co-producing the critically acclaimed "Bible Belt" by Diane Birch.

Fri, November 1

8PM / $59.50 - $74.50
Get Tickets

Please note: There is a $20 food/beverage minimum per person not included in ticket price. You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional purchase policies.

Upcoming Events

Fri, July 19, 8:00 PM

Chuck Brown Band

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 20, 8:00 PM

Jody Watley - Celebrating 30 Years of Real Love

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 21, 7:00 PM

Daryl Davis Presents: The Beach Boys Meet The Beatles!

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 26, 8:00 PM

Wayne Linsey with Special Guests Alana Linsey & SunWhoa Love

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 27, 8:00 PM

Sugar Bear Birthday Celebration Featuring E.U. & Special Guests

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 28, 7:00 PM

Sugar Bear Birthday Celebration Featuring E.U. & Special Guests Part 2

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 2, 8:00 PM

Bar-Kays & One Way hosted by WHUR/Mr. C's Time Tunnel

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 3, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 3, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 4, 7:00 PM

Secret Society

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 9, 8:00 PM

A Tribute to the Music of Aretha Franklin

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 10, 8:00 PM

Jamison Ross

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 11, 6:00 PM

Second Sunday Praise: J.J. Hairston

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 17, 8:00 PM

Rahsaan Patterson

Get Tickets →

Thu, August 22, 8:00 PM

Lyfe Jennings

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 23, 8:00 PM

Lyfe Jennings

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 30, 7:00 PM

Nephew Tommy

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 30, 10:00 PM

Nephew Tommy

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 31, 7:00 PM

Nephew Tommy

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 31, 10:00 PM

Nephew Tommy

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 1, 8:00 PM

Millie Jackson

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 6, 8:00 PM

Walter Beasley

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 8, 5:00 PM

Deitrick Haddon

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 13, 7:00 PM

Howard Hewett

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 20, 8:00 PM

DMV Kings of R&B Featuring Top 5 & Special Guest Kevin Ross

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 21, 8:00 PM

Funkateers Ball w/ Clip Payne's 420 Funk Mob, Michael Hampton & Kash Waddy

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 20, 7:00 PM

Band of Roses Presents She Rocks The 90's!

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 30, 8:00 PM

Maze featuring Frankie Beverly

Get Tickets →

Sun, December 1, 7:00 PM

Maze featuring Frankie Beverly

Get Tickets →