Tue May 19

Evolution Contemporary Series: Michael Gordon

Tue, May 19
7PM / Free
Tickets must be purchased at http://evolutionseries.org/
An die Musik Live!

409 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, MD 21201

Evolution Series - Michael Gordon

To live in Baltimore is to live in a perpetual state of surprise, and the marvelous and venturesome Evolution Series adds smart new music to the mix…for those of us who remember downtown New York in the 1970s, it is reassuring to find something very much like it happening in Baltimore now. – Tim Page, Washington Post

Michael Gordon

May 19, 2020
7:00pm conversation with the composer, 8:00pm concert

The co-founder of the Bang on a Can new-music collective joins us for performances of his solo and chamber music, filled with “the fury of punk rock, the nervous brilliance of free jazz, and the intransigence of classical modernism” (New Yorker)

The Evolution Contemporary Music Series has made Baltimore a destination for outstanding new music and musicians since 2005. Praised by Tim Smith of the Baltimore Sun for having “elevated and enriched Baltimore’s new music scene enormously,” and by the Baltimore City Paper as “superb…not the same-old, same-old,” the Evolution Series has presented or premiered works by over 100 composers, performed by acclaimed musicians from Baltimore and beyond. Featured guests have included Marin Alsop, music director of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra; Pulitzer Prize-winning composers John Luther Adams, Caroline Shaw, and Julia Wolfe; and New Yorker music critic Alex Ross.

Tickets must be purchased at http://evolutionseries.org/

Visit Website

Tue, May 19

7PM / Free
Tickets must be purchased at http://evolutionseries.org/
Upcoming Events

Thu, January 23, 8:00 PM

Tedd Baker "TB3"

Get Tickets →

Thu, January 23, 9:30 PM

Tedd Baker "TB3"

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 24, 7:30 PM

Aaron Hill Key Reflections: Piano Meditation Concert

Get Tickets →

Mon, January 27, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Wed, January 29, 8:00 PM

Jazz Piano Phenom Matt Savage Solo Concert

Get Tickets →

Thu, January 30, 7:00 PM

Salsa Dance Class with Tabitha Hitchye

Get Tickets →

Thu, January 30, 8:00 PM

Cuaba Latin Jazz with Guest Percussionist Rene Ibañez

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 31, 8:00 PM

Shalanda Bond Hansboro & The Sounds of Kindred Spirits

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 1, 7:30 PM

Folkal Point: June Star

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 2, 10:30 AM

Coffee, Patisserie & Classical Music: Beethoven's 250th Birthday

Get Tickets →

Mon, February 3, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 6, 7:00 PM

Katherine Needleman, Lachezar Kostov, Viktor Valkov

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 8, 8:00 PM

Gary Thomas Quintet with special guest E.J. Strickland

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 8, 9:30 PM

Gary Thomas Quintet with special guest E.J. Strickland

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 9, 5:00 PM

Roots Cafe: John Seay, Geraldine's John Bolten & Geoffrey Himes

Get Tickets →

Mon, February 10, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Monday Series

Get Tickets →

Mon, February 17, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Tue, February 18, 8:00 PM

Evolution Contemporary Series: For Toni Morrison

Tickets must be purchased at http://evolutionseries.org/ →

Wed, February 19, 8:00 PM

Peabody Jazz Composers Monthly Forum

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 22, 8:00 PM

Ethnic Heritage Ensemble "Raise the Spirit" 2020 Tour

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 22, 9:30 PM

Ethnic Heritage Ensemble "Raise the Spirit" 2020 Tour

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 27, 8:00 PM

Cuaba Latin Jazz Trio

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 27, 9:00 PM

Cuaba Latin Jazz Trio

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 28, 8:00 PM

Charles Tolliver 5tet Music Inc

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 28, 9:30 PM

Charles Tolliver 5tet Music Inc

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 29, 8:00 PM

Charles Tolliver 5tet Music Inc

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 29, 9:30 PM

Charles Tolliver 5tet Music Inc

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 1, 2:00 PM

Eri Yamamoto & Bruce Barth: Solo Jazz Piano Series 2020

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 7, 10:30 AM

Coffee Patisserie & Classical Music: Katherine Needleman & Hanchien Lee

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 8, 2:00 PM

Roots Cafe: The Billy Kemp-Geoffrey Himes Songbook

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 9, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →