Fri Jan 19

Salim Washington

Fri, January 19
11PM / $15
Get Tickets
Twins Jazz

1344 U. St. NW
Washington, DC 20009

Salim Washington

Salim Washington is a composer and multi instrumentalist, playing tenor sax, flute, oboe and bass clarinet. He has played and recorded with many of the luminaries of the art form, and has been featured in festivals and other venues throughout the United States, Europe, Africa, and Latin America.

Washington has combined a life in music with a life of the mind and is a scholar of black music and culture, having written several articles and co-written with Farah Jasmine Griffin a book about the collaboration between Miles Davis and John Coltrane. He currently serves as professor of music in Durban, South Africa, teaching jazz and mentoring young musicians at the University of KwaZulu-Natal.

He works to combine his artistry and pedagogy with his political conviction that we must work to improve our society with greater justice for all.

Fri, January 19

11PM / $15
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Sat, December 16, 9:00 PM

Michael Thomas Quintet

Get Tickets →

Sat, December 16, 11:00 PM

Michael Thomas Quintet

Get Tickets →

Sun, December 17, 8:00 PM

Julian Berkowitz

Get Tickets →

Sun, December 17, 10:00 PM

Julian Berkowitz

Get Tickets →

Wed, December 20, 8:00 PM

Andrew Latona

Get Tickets →

Wed, December 20, 10:00 PM

Andrew Latona

Get Tickets →

Thu, December 21, 7:30 PM

Jazz Band Master Class & The Capital City Voices

Get Tickets →

Fri, December 22, 9:00 PM

The John Lamkin 'Favorites' Jazz Quintet

Get Tickets →

Fri, December 22, 11:00 PM

The John Lamkin 'Favorites' Jazz Quintet

Get Tickets →

Sat, December 23, 9:00 PM

The John Lamkin 'Favorites' Jazz Quintet

Get Tickets →

Sat, December 23, 11:00 PM

The John Lamkin 'Favorites' Jazz Quintet

Get Tickets →

Wed, December 27, 8:00 PM

Eliza Salem

Get Tickets →

Wed, December 27, 10:00 PM

Eliza Salem

Get Tickets →

Thu, December 28, 8:00 PM

Charmaine Michelle

Get Tickets →

Thu, December 28, 10:00 PM

Charmaine Michelle

Get Tickets →

Fri, December 29, 9:00 PM

Wade Beach & Brazilian Jazz

Get Tickets →

Fri, December 29, 11:00 PM

Wade Beach & Brazilian Jazz

Get Tickets →

Sat, December 30, 9:00 PM

Wade Beach & Brazilian Jazz

Get Tickets →

Sat, December 30, 11:00 PM

Wade Beach & Brazilian Jazz

Get Tickets →

Sun, December 31, 9:00 PM

New Years Eve w/ Wade Beach & Brazilian Jazz

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 5, 8:00 PM

Anderson Twins

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 5, 10:00 PM

Anderson Twins

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 6, 8:00 PM

Anderson Twins

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 6, 10:00 PM

Anderson Twins

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 19, 9:00 PM

Salim Washington

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 20, 9:00 PM

Salim Washington

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 20, 11:00 PM

Salim Washington

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 26, 9:00 PM

Benito Gonzalez

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 26, 11:00 PM

Benito Gonzalez

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 27, 9:00 PM

Benito Gonzalez

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 27, 11:00 PM

Benito Gonzalez

Get Tickets →