Thu Oct 17

Global Sounds on the Hill: ASA-CHANG & Junray

Thu, October 17
7PM / $18
Get Tickets
Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital

921 Pennsylvania Ave. SE
Washington, DC 20003

ASA-CHANG & Junray

Hill Center is thrilled to welcome ASA-CHANG & Junray as part of our Global Sounds series and Multiflora Productionsannual music festival, Flash of the Spirit.

Asa-Chang & Junray is the name of the Asa-Chang experience, and comes from the 'Jun-Ray Tronics' soundsystem used by self-taught tabla guru Asa-Chang. The word also means 'pilgrimage' - Asa-Chang is on a mission to take music to places it's never been.

The Global Sounds concert series, curated and hosted by Jim Thomson, features musicians at the forefront of the global music scene. Jim Thomson owns and operates the Brooklyn/Washington, DC-based boutique record label-Electric Cowbell Records. He currently runs Multiflora Productionsout of Washington, DC, a multifaceted, multicultural agency that specializes in expanding the reach of genre-bending roots-to-the-future music through artist management, event marketing and music releases.

 

Thu, October 17

7PM / $18
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Tue, September 24, 6:30 PM

Order In: Chinese

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 26, 6:30 PM

Beyond Basics: Pasta Making

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 26, 6:30 PM

Spanish Language Course: Beginners

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 27, 7:00 PM

Chef's Table with Chef Gérard Pangaud

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 27, 7:00 PM

Evil and the Anti-Hero: Bad Day at Black Rock (1955)

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 29, 12:00 PM

Hill Center's Annual Family Day + Concert

Get Tickets →

Mon, September 30, 6:30 PM

French Language Course: Beginner I

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 1, 6:30 PM

Basic Drawing Techniques

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 1, 6:30 PM

French Language Course: Intermediate

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 1, 7:00 PM

Talk of the Hill with Bill Press: Charlie Cook of the Cook Political Report

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 5, 10:00 AM

The Art of French Cooking with Chef Gérard Pangaud

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 6, 11:00 AM

Seasonal Chinese Cuisine with Chefs Lisa and Peter Chang

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 6, 3:00 PM

Eastern Market Art Series and Trainings: Charlie Visconage's Hall of Artist

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 7, 6:30 PM

Intermediate Drawing

Get Tickets →

Wed, October 9, 6:30 PM

Street Food: Arancini and Polpette

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 10, 6:30 PM

No Boundaries Cuisine: Plantains

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 10, 7:00 PM

Street Scenes: Herb Scott - Saxophonist, Vocalist

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 11, 11:00 AM

Long Lunch: Paella

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 12, 11:00 AM

Giro d'Italia: Sicily

Get Tickets →

Wed, October 16, 6:30 PM

Kitchen 101: Sausage Making

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 17, 6:30 PM

Beyond Basics: Pasta Making

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 18, 5:00 PM

Kids Concert + Family Happy Hour with King Bullfrog

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 19, 12:00 PM

Contemporary Watercolors

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 19, 2:30 PM

Introduction to Linocut Printmaking

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 20, 3:00 PM

Opera starts with Oh!: Venus and Adonis (Ages 5+)

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 22, 6:30 PM

The Whole Beast: Duck Boot Camp

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 25, 7:00 PM

Chef's Table with Chef Gérard Pangaud

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 25, 7:00 PM

Evil and the Anti-Hero: Kontrol (2003)

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 1, 6:30 PM

Pottery on the Hill Preview Reception

Get Tickets →

Tue, November 5, 6:30 PM

Order In: Indian

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 7, 7:00 PM

All Politics is Local with Tom Sherwood & Mark Segraves: Kojo Nnamdi

Get Tickets →