Sun May 19

Pera'da Zaman

Sun, May 19
2PM / $25 - $35 | $4 - $5.20 Fees
Get Tickets
Triad Theater

158 West 72nd Street
New York, NY 10023

Pera'da Zaman

Today's Beyoglu neighborhood…It used to be called Pera. Going to Beyoglu, the neighborhood that never sleeps, feels like going through the doors of freedom. When we talk about how Istanbul is one of the world's most exciting, intriguing cities in the world, we owe it to the mystery and intriguing factors of Beyoglu.

In our play “Times in Pera”,  we are bringing the times and changes of those eras on stage. We are talking about the changes of the times in the neighborhood of Pera and how raki was part of those transitions. This documentary theater is staged in different periods.The play is supported with a documentary which brings these periods to life. The film shows the social and cultural structure of those times chronologically in Pera with songs and dances.

A park in Beyoglu is not only a park. A pub in Beyo?lu is not just a pub. A tree in Beyoglu is not just a tree. Like the writer Mücap Ofluo?lu says “To live in Beyoglu, breathe in its air is I think only possible with a glass of raki in hand. ”’

So, our storyteller in  “Times in Pera” is a raki.  It shows the audience the proper way of drinking raki in a spirited way to the audience. We are drinking this drink as the part of the mutual heritage of the civilizations for centuries in these borders of Türkiye. But no doubt Pera is the most pleasant place to enjoy Raki.

      TIME in PERA
Period : 1918 - The occupation period
Period : Democratic Party Time( after September  6-7 Eylül)
Period : 11 September 1980
Period : 90’s
Period: Present time

Approx Running Time: 75 Minutes
Genre: Theater, Play, Storytelling

Please Note: the venue has a 2-beverage minimum per person.

Visit Website

Sun, May 19

2PM / $25 - $35 | $4 - $5.20 Fees
Get Tickets

Please note: There is a 2 drink minimum at the theater. You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional purchase policies.

Upcoming Events

Sun, April 21, 2:30 PM

NiCori Youth Cabaret Showcase

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 24, 7:00 PM

BOUND FOR BROADWAY

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 26, 6:30 PM

InspiredWordNYC's Soundz & Vibez

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 26, 9:30 PM

Mickey's Uncut Hits: A Raunchy Cabaret

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 27, 7:00 PM

Funny Women of a Certain Age

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 27, 9:30 PM

MOUTH (vol.1) BY MICTASTIC

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 28, 3:00 PM

Shmoozin' with Slutsky & Matsuki

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 2, 7:00 PM

Adelaide Mestre's TOP DRAWER

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 5, 2:00 PM

The Current's 13th Birthday Show: Singo De Mayo!

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 5, 7:00 PM

Wasted Girl

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 7, 6:00 PM

BENEFIT FOR HAMPTONS SUMMER SONGBOOK BY THE SEA

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 8, 7:00 PM

Doris Dear's 10 year Celebration

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 9, 7:00 PM

The Rainbow Connection: A Tribute to Our Divas

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 10, 7:00 PM

Dorothy Bishop in THE DOZEN DIVAS

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 11, 2:30 PM

Minda Larsen Vocal Studio Recital

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 11, 7:00 PM

Elvis and Patsy Cline - Back in Baby's Arms Tour 2024

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 11, 9:30 PM

HOT MONKEY LOVE

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 12, 2:00 PM

I Love My Momma! A Soulful Mother's Day Concert

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 13, 7:00 PM

Lifting the Curtain on Mental Health

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 15, 7:00 PM

Bette Davis Ain't For Sissies

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 17, 6:30 PM

Funny For Fundraising 3

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 18, 1:30 PM

CHEESE FRIES & CHILI DIPS

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 18, 7:00 PM

Pera'da Zaman

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 18, 9:30 PM

The Triad All-Star Stand Up Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 19, 5:00 PM

Eternally Elvis starring Mike Moat

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 21, 7:00 PM

Between Fire & Ice - A Diabolical Weimar Berlin Kabarett

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 23, 7:00 PM

Celebrating the Life of Maren Waxenberg in Song

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 24, 7:00 PM

Vivienne Aerts Live in Concert!

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 29, 7:00 PM

BOUND FOR BROADWAY

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 31, 7:00 PM

Three-Time Grammy Winner Gustavo Casenave Solo

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 1, 2:00 PM

Chris Ruggiero: Up Close & Personal

Get Tickets →