Fri Jan 31

Ken and Brad Kolodner Quartet

Fri, January 31
6PM / $20
Get Tickets
Germano's

300 South High Street
Baltimore, MD 21202

Ken and Brad Kolodner

The dynamic father-son team Ken & Brad Kolodner weave together a captivating soundscape on hammered dulcimer, banjo, gourd banjo, hammered mbira, fiddles and vocals pushing the boundaries of the American Old-Time tradition into uncharted territory. The repertoire is largely drawn from what is known today by practitioners of “old-time” which is a style of North American music that preceded Bluegrass, dating back several centuries with strong African and Celtic roots. In addition to originals written in the style, expect some surprises! For the past year, the duo has performed regularly as a quartet with fiddler, guitarist and vocalist Rachel Eddy (The Early Mays), formerly of Uncle Earl, and bassist Alex Lacquement (The Bumper Jacksons, Charm City Junction). In early 2017, Ken & Brad released their first recording as a quartet: The Swift House which charted in the top ten on the Folk Music Charts. Together, they infuse their own brand of driving, innovative, tasteful and unique interpretations of traditional and original Old-Time tunes and songs with a “creative curiosity that lets all listeners know that a passion for traditional music yet thrives in every generation.”

Regarded as one of the most influential hammered dulcimer players and Old-Time fiddlers in North America, Baltimore’s Ken Kolodner (Helicon) joined forces in 2009 with his son Brad Kolodner (also Charm City Junction), one of the best practitioners of the clawhammer banjo world and a super fiddler as well. Rachel Eddy hails from West Virginia, where she grew up steeped in Appalachian music and dance. After learning fiddle from her father she graduated to guitar and banjo, and now works full-time teaching and performing Oldtime music around the world.  Rachel's multi-instrumental talents and soulful singing bring an energy to the stage you don't want to miss! One of the go-to bassists in the mid-Atlantic, Alex Lacquement locks it all together with his tasteful choices. In early 2016, The Ken & Brad Kolodner Quartet debuted at Germano's with their very first performance as a quartet.

Visit Website
Watch Video

Fri, January 31

6PM / $20
Get Tickets

You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional purchase policies. Performances are for dining patrons only; the time indicated on the ticket refers to dinner seating. It is the venue's expectation that the performance will begin at 7:30 unless otherwise indicated in the show listing on the venue's website.

Upcoming Events

Wed, September 18, 6:00 PM

Open Mic Night with Mary Reilly

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 19, 6:00 PM

Ben Delaurentis Performs in the Bar

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 19, 6:00 PM

Adam Swanson: Music from the Golden Age of Hollywood

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 20, 6:00 PM

An Evening with Sandy and Richard Riccardi

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 21, 6:00 PM

Imperfect Relationships Featuring Michael Sheppard and Becky Mossing

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 22, 6:00 PM

Victoria Vox /Jack and the Vox

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 22, 7:00 PM

Jam Session in the Bar

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 26, 6:00 PM

Mariah Bonner: Expressions of Myself

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 27, 6:00 PM

Jenny Wilson Trio

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 28, 6:00 PM

Abbey Road Jazz Ensemble

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 29, 7:00 PM

Jam Session in the Bar

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 3, 6:00 PM

An Evening with Billy Colucci

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 4, 6:00 PM

An Evening with Italian Jazz Master Dario Chiazzolino

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 5, 6:00 PM

Paludan-Paskalov, Soprano-Piano

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 6, 7:00 PM

Jam Session in the Bar

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 8, 6:00 PM

Tomar and The FCs

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 10, 6:00 PM

BSA Alumni Open Mic

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 11, 6:00 PM

An Evening with Gary Rubin and Brent Hardesty

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 12, 6:00 PM

Jake Ruth Quartet-Jazz in the Cabaret

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 13, 7:00 PM

Jam Session in the Bar

Get Tickets →

Wed, October 16, 6:00 PM

Open Mic Night with Mary Reilly

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 17, 6:00 PM

Geovane Santos: Brazilian Jazz

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 18, 6:00 PM

Joshua Breakstone CD Release A Tribute to Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 19, 6:00 PM

Kings of Crownsville

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 20, 12:00 PM

Brunch with the Jack Dunlap Band

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 20, 7:00 PM

Jam Session in the Bar

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 22, 6:00 PM

An Evening of Classic Banjo (and More) with Aaron Jonah Lewis

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 24, 6:00 PM

An Evening with The Zimnicki Players

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 25, 6:00 PM

Eric Comstock and Barbara Fasano in "Come a Little Closer"

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 26, 11:30 AM

Sing The Truth Master Class with Eric Comstock and Barbara Fasano

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 26, 6:00 PM

An Evening of Eclectic Songs with Charisma Wooten

Get Tickets →