Sat Feb 19

Blues Alley Youth Orchestra @ Mid-Atlantic Jazz Festival

Sat, February 19
All Day / Free
Free - No Tickets Needed
Blues Alley

Mid-Atlantic Jazz Festival

Blues Alley Youth Orchestra

The Orchestra is comprised of accomplished student musicians ranging in age from 14-17 years old with their mission to preserve and promote the big band jazz genre. Now in its 25th year the Orchestra has performed at such mainstay venues as The John F. Kennedy Center, The Smithsonian Institution, Voice of America, Carter Barron Amphitheater, Wolf Trap, Blues Alley and elsewhere.

The Orchestra was founded in 1985 along with its parent Blues Alley Jazz Society and performs varied musical selections by such successful jazz composers as Duke Ellington, Dizzy Gillespie, Charlie Parker, Miles Davis, John Coltrane, Chick Corea, Herbie Hancock and others. The Orchestra typically contains a full accompaniment of brass, strings and percussion and attracts student musicians from Frederick to Fredericksburg. Students also take part in both civic and educational trainings as they perform in senior centers, at community functions and inside houses of worship.

Visit Website
Watch Video

Sat, February 19

All Day / Free
Free - No Tickets Needed
Upcoming Events

Wed, December 1, 8:00 PM

Chaise Lounge

Get Tickets →

Wed, December 1, 10:00 PM

Chaise Lounge

Get Tickets →

Thu, December 2, 8:00 PM

Jane Monheit

Get Tickets →

Thu, December 2, 10:00 PM

Jane Monheit

Get Tickets →

Fri, December 3, 8:00 PM

Jane Monheit

Get Tickets →

Fri, December 3, 10:00 PM

Jane Monheit

Get Tickets →

Sat, December 4, 8:00 PM

Jane Monheit

Get Tickets →

Sat, December 4, 10:00 PM

Jane Monheit

Get Tickets →

Sun, December 5, 8:00 PM

Jane Monheit

Get Tickets →

Sun, December 5, 10:00 PM

Jane Monheit

Get Tickets →

Mon, December 6, 7:00 PM

FAME Jazz Ensemble

Get Tickets →

Mon, December 6, 8:00 PM

Blues Alley Youth Orchestra

Get Tickets →

Tue, December 7, 8:00 PM

Lena Seikaly

Get Tickets →

Tue, December 7, 10:00 PM

Lena Seikaly

Get Tickets →

Wed, December 8, 8:00 PM

Veronneau

Get Tickets →

Wed, December 8, 10:00 PM

Veronneau

Get Tickets →

Thu, December 9, 8:00 PM

Kenny Garrett

Get Tickets →

Thu, December 9, 10:00 PM

Kenny Garrett

Get Tickets →

Fri, December 10, 8:00 PM

Kenny Garrett

Get Tickets →

Fri, December 10, 10:00 PM

Kenny Garrett

Get Tickets →

Sat, December 11, 8:00 PM

Kenny Garrett

Get Tickets →

Sat, December 11, 10:00 PM

Kenny Garrett

Get Tickets →

Sun, December 12, 8:00 PM

Kenny Garrett

Get Tickets →

Sun, December 12, 10:00 PM

Kenny Garrett

Get Tickets →

Mon, December 13, 8:00 PM

Christmas with AYO

Get Tickets →

Mon, December 13, 10:00 PM

Christmas with AYO

Get Tickets →

Tue, December 14, 8:00 PM

A Redd Christmas

Get Tickets →

Tue, December 14, 10:00 PM

A Redd Christmas

Get Tickets →

Wed, December 15, 8:00 PM

Eric Felten "Annual Nutcracker Suite"

Get Tickets →

Wed, December 15, 10:00 PM

Eric Felten "Annual Nutcracker Suite"

Get Tickets →

Thu, December 16, 8:00 PM

Mike Stern w/ Randy Brecker

Get Tickets →