Sun May 26

The Blackbyrds "50th Anniversary Tour"

Sun, May 26
7PM / $49 | $6.76 Fees
Get Tickets
Carlyle Room

1350 I Street, NW
Washington, DC 20005

The Blackbyrds

The Blackbyrds are one of the most accomplished music bands ever from the DC area. They came together 50 years ago as Howard University students under the guidance of their music professor, the late great jazz trumpeter Donald Byrd, who also became their manager and producer. They created a unique jazz funk sound combined with soulful harmonies that made a big impact on the music charts in the 1970s with 10 Top 40 R&B hits.

The Blackbyrds' biggest hit songs were "Walking In Rhythm", their Grammy nominated million selling smash hit that peaked at #4 on the R&B chart and #6 on the pop chart; "Happy Music", an uplifting party anthem that was their biggest R&B hit at #3 and also #19 on the pop chart; and "Rock Creek Park", their most beloved song known for its infectious groove and famous verse “doin’ it in the park, doin’ it after dark, oh yeah…Rock Creek Park!”

The Blackbyrds are still touring around the world but they always look forward to performing in the DC area because they are most appreciated here. Their original core members as well as their new members are all from the DC area led by bandleader Keith Killgo. Their crowd pleasing performances feature all of their most popular songs plus those by their late mentor Donald Byrd including "Black Byrd". "Flight Time" and "(Fallin' Like) Dominoes."formed in Washington, D.C., in August,1973 and reformed in 2012 by Keith Killgo.

Visit Website
Watch Video

Sun, May 26

7PM / $49 | $6.76 Fees
Get Tickets

Please note: There is a $25 minimum per person in the dining room. You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional purchase policies.

Upcoming Events

Sat, April 20, 7:30 PM

Tygressa Sings Natalie...Remembering Natalie Cole

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 21, 11:00 AM

Jazz Brunch with Greg Lamont

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 21, 5:00 PM

On Kee Jazz

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 25, 7:30 PM

William Becton's Old School-New School Praise Jam

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 26, 7:30 PM

Brencore Presents "A Tribute to the Music of Motown"

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 27, 7:00 PM

Rene Marie

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 27, 9:30 PM

Rene Marie

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 28, 11:00 AM

Jazz Brunch with Greg Lamont

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 28, 7:00 PM

A Tribute to Stevie Wonder with Recording Artist Rob Stocks

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 4, 8:00 PM

The Triple Experience "Pre-Mother's Day Evening with music from R&B Greats"

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 7, 7:00 PM

Edmund Burke School Jazz Band

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 7, 9:00 PM

Georgetown Day School Jazz Ensemble

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 9, 7:30 PM

Rob Maletick

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 10, 7:30 PM

Wes Watkins "Got My Own Sound"

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 11, 7:00 PM

CLOSED - PRIVATE PARTY

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 12, 6:00 PM

Mother's Day with Voices Of Classic Soul Fmr Tempts, 4Tops, Drifters & Main

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 15, 6:30 PM

Humpday Cabaret "An Immersive Burlesque Experience"

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 16, 7:30 PM

Jarreau Williams

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 18, 7:00 PM

Beatlemania Magic

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 23, 7:30 PM

The JoGo Project "10th Anniversary Concert"

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 25, 7:00 PM

E.U. featuring SUGAR BEAR

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 31, 8:00 PM

Tribute to The Ladies of Soul

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 1, 7:00 PM

Chuck Brown Band

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 8, 8:00 PM

Comedy Night at the Carlyle Room

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 13, 7:30 PM

TolumiDE

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 14, 7:30 PM

Angela Stribling & Johnny Britt

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 15, 7:30 PM

Shawn & Shelton "Tributes to Patti & Marvin"

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 20, 7:30 PM

The B Side

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 23, 7:30 PM

The Silky-Smooth Voice of a Woman "Kat Rollins 65th"

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 27, 7:30 PM

Carl Cox

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 28, 8:00 PM

Tribute to the Music of the Isley Brothers

Get Tickets →