Sat Feb 25

The Paris Quartet

Sat, February 25
7:30PM / $12 - $30
Get Tickets
Santa Cruz Baroque Festival

Peace United Church, 900 High St.
Santa Cruz, CA 95060

The Paris Quartet

Janet See, Baroque Flute ~ Lisa Weiss, Baroque violin, Peter Hallifax, viol ~ Katherine Heater, harpsichord

Concert Sponsor: Michel & Susan McKay

At the beginning of the Baroque, a new style proudly swept aside the equality of parts that characterized Renaissance counterpoint. Any sensuous or jaunty tune supported by a good bass was considered a proper example of Baroque style, yet quite a few composers went considerably further: inspired by the twining vines and flirting butterflies of Springtime, they could not resist writing two lines turning in close harmonic duet over that strong bass, making a suggestive trio.

Our program tells how this sort of trio grew into the quartet during the Baroque through an exploration of masterful music structures in the Baroque for 3 and 4 to play. Music of visionaries and experimentalists including J. S. Bach, G. P. Telemann, and J. P. Rameau are among the favorites this virtuoso ensemble will showcase in a candlelit concert with diverse arrangements, concluding with Telemann’s exquisite e minor Paris Quartet.

Sat, February 25

7:30PM / $12 - $30
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Sat, November 19, 7:30 PM

Beethoven 250th Birthday Celebration!

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 4, 7:30 PM

A Rainbow of American Musics

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 18, 7:30 PM

Concordian Dawn

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 16, 3:00 PM

Wildcat Viols

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 6, 7:30 PM

New Esterházy Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 14, 1:00 PM

Music in the Garden

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 21, 7:00 PM

Emerging Artist Showcase

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 8, 1:00 PM

Boomeria Organ & Brass Extravaganza

Get Tickets →

2023 Season Tickets - Powers of Four - Early Bird discount

Get Tickets →