Sun Jun 9

John P. Kee and New Life

Sun, June 9
7PM / $49.50
Get Tickets
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

John P. Kee

As one of gospel music's greatest pioneers, John P. Kee is known as "The Prince of Gospel Music" for his extraordinary talents and accomplishments as a singer, musician, songwriter, producer and choir leader. Kee demonstrated his musical talent at an early age performing his own material by age 9 then starting a gospel community choir at age 13 before he was placed in a school for musically gifted children. He later studied music at college in California where he mastered his craft while performing with national recording artists. Returning to his home state of North Carolina, Kee turned his life around as a young man after witnessing the murder of a close friend. He became an ordained minister, founded the New Life Fellowship Center in Charlotte where he is still pastor today and then started his renowned New Life Community Choir.

Blending traditional and contemporary gospel with his soulful husky voice, Kee along with his choir have been trailblazers of gospel music for more than thirty years with several albums at the top of the gospel charts. In addition to seven Grammy nominations, he has won numerous awards from Billboard, Soul Train, GMWA, Stellar and inducted into the Gospel Music Hall of Fame. He has written music for other gospel greats including Reverend James Cleveland, Venessa Bell Armstrong, Dorinda Clark Cole, Hawkins Family and Mississippi Mass Choir. Kee has also written for popular music artists including Billy Preston, Stephanie Mills, Joe Walsh and Jonny Lang while his music has been featured in film and television. His music catalog is said to be one of the largest in the world by an individual writer and publisher.     

Sun, June 9

7PM / $49.50
Get Tickets

Please note: There is a $20 food/beverage minimum per person not included in ticket price. You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional purchase policies.

Upcoming Events

Thu, May 23, 8:00 PM

Dave Hollister

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 24, 8:00 PM

Dave Hollister

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 25, 8:00 PM

Be'la Dona

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 26, 8:00 PM

The Hamiltones with Special Guest Tulani

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 27, 7:00 PM

Anderson .Paak and The Free Nationals

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 31, 8:00 PM

Kim Jordan

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 1, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair and Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 1, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair and Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 2, 7:30 PM

The Soul of Curtis Mayfield

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 7, 7:00 PM

All-Star Purple Party Prince Birthday Tribute Featuring Junie Henderson

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 7, 10:00 PM

All-Star Purple Party Prince Birthday Tribute Featuring Junie Henderson

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 8, 8:00 PM

Garrett Shider & Groovallegiance

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 14, 7:00 PM

George Wallace with special guest Cocoa Brown

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 14, 10:00 PM

George Wallace with special guest Cocoa Brown

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 15, 8:00 PM

Proper Utensils Pre-Father's Day Bash

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 16, 3:00 PM

Zapp & Brick - Father's Day

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 16, 7:00 PM

Zapp & Brick - Father's Day

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 20, 8:00 PM

Band of Roses Presents She Rocks The 90's!

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 28, 8:00 PM

En Vogue

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 29, 8:00 PM

En Vogue

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 30, 7:30 PM

A Tribute To The Music Of Motown

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 5, 8:00 PM

SOS Band hosted by WHUR/Mr. C's Time Tunnel

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 7, 8:00 PM

A Tribute To The Music Of Phyllis Hyman

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 13, 7:00 PM

Peabo Bryson

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 13, 10:00 PM

Peabo Bryson

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 20, 8:00 PM

Jody Watley - Celebrating 30 Years of Real Love

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 26, 8:00 PM

Wayne Linsey with Special Guests Alana Linsey & SunWhoa Love

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 27, 8:00 PM

Sugar Bear Birthday Celebration Featuring E.U. & Special Guests

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 2, 8:00 PM

Bar-Kays & One Way hosted by WHUR/Mr. C's Time Tunnel

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 9, 8:00 PM

A Tribute to the Music of Aretha Franklin

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 13, 7:00 PM

Howard Hewett

Get Tickets →