Quarantine Concert Series #16: Brandon Woody UPENDO Trio

An die Musik Live!

409 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, MD 21201

Brandon Woody

***This is access to a recording of their live performance on our stage on May 4, 2020.** *

Brandon Woody, trumpet
Troy Long, piano
Devron Dennis, drums 

Brandon was referred to as one of the top upcoming young performing artist in the region by the Baltimore Sun in 2015. Brandon Woody started playing the trumpet 12 years ago. He grew up in east Baltimore and attended several cultural programs around the city at a very young age like the Eubie Blake Cultural Center, Peabody Preparatory and many others, Brandon Woody is an alumni of the Baltimore School for the Arts, and during his time there he participated in programs such as the Berklee jazz workshop, Grammy Camp, Young Arts Competition, Shenandoah Jazz soloists competition. He started his own band named UPENDO in the year of 2015, and has been having shows all over the east and west coast and internationally since then. Brandon received a full scholarship after high school to attend the Brubeck Institute. After attending the Brubeck Institute Brandon was awarded a full scholarship to attend the Manhattan School of Music. Brandon recently moved back to  Baltimore and started working on his album. Brandon has studied with Cecile Bridgewater, Ambrose Akinmusire and Woodys biggest mentor is Theljon Allen. He has gotten the chance to perform with masters such as Quincy Phillips, Ray Angry, Benny Maupin, Stefon Harris, Danilo Perez, Terri-Lyne Carrington, Steve Wilson, John Pattituci, Ed Simon, Tarus Mateen and has performed at venues such as Jazz at Lincoln Center Appel Room, Lincoln Center Atrium. Brandon has played with and recorded on several different rappers and singers projects all over the east coast like Miranda Curtis, Sophie Marks, Solange, Neptune, Victoria Canal.  Brandon is a new member of Solanges band and Standing on the Corner. He opened up for the Newport Jazz Festival, and performed in the Danilo Perez Band. He performed  the music of Clifford Brown with Strings and the music of Max Roach and Brown with Jon Faddis in January 2018 at Aaron Davis Hall as part of a special celebration of Clifford Brown and Max Roach at Manhattan School of Music. Brandon has been curating several shows in Baltimore in the effort to simply bring people together that might not always get the chance to be together. Brandon has 2 film scores. Brandon will be releasing his first album in Summer 2020.

Streaming cost is $5
Donations are welcomed.

Upcoming Events

Thu, August 13, 7:00 PM

Craig Alston Birthday Celebration LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Fri, August 14, 7:00 PM

Marc Cary Solo Jazz Piano LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sat, August 15, 2:00 PM

Dong Xi (East-West) LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sat, August 15, 7:00 PM

Benito Gonzalez Trio

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, August 16, 2:00 PM

Bill Heid Trio LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Fri, August 21, 8:00 PM

Jeff Rymes and The Lost Generation EXCLUSIVE BROADCAST

Get Access to the Broadcast →

Sat, August 22, 7:00 PM

Gabrielle Goodman and Friends LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Mon, August 24, 7:00 PM

Todd Simon Solo Jazz Piano LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Wed, August 26, 7:00 PM

Reginald Cyntje & Allyn Johnson Duo LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Thu, August 27, 7:00 PM

Rufus Roundtree and Da B'more Brass Factory LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Fri, August 28, 7:00 PM

Peravon Jazz Trio LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sat, August 29, 7:00 PM

Jazz Piano Protege Jose Andre LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Mon, August 31, 7:00 PM

Percussion Discussion 2 with Lafayette Gilchrist & Kevin Pinder LIVE STREAM

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sat, September 5, 7:30 PM

Nick Sjostrom LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, September 6, 2:00 PM

Orrin Evans: 2020 Jazz Piano Series

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 12, 3:00 PM

Guitarist Ana Vidovic LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, September 13, 3:00 PM

Guitarist Ana Vidovic LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Mon, September 14, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Monday Series

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 24, 7:00 PM

Rick Alberico Jazz Project LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, September 27, 12:00 PM

Jazz Vocal Workshop

Please pay instructor at workshop. →

Mon, October 5, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 12, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Monday Series

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 19, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 25, 12:00 PM

Jazz Vocal Workshop

Please pay instructor at workshop. →

Sun, November 8, 2:00 PM

Charles Covington: 2020 Jazz Piano Series

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 9, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 16, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Monday Series

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 21, 2:00 PM

Pianist Hélène Papadopoulos

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 23, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 27, 8:00 PM

Billy Price Charm City Rhythm Band

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 29, 12:00 PM

Jazz Vocal Workshop

Please pay instructor at workshop. →