Quarantine Concert Series #24: John Lamkin 'Favorites' Jazz Quintet

An die Musik Live!

409 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, MD 21201

John Lamkin

**This is access to a recording of their live performance on our stage on May 17, 2020.**

John Lamkin II, trumpet 
Michael Hairston, saxophone 
Bob Butta, piano 
Mike Graham, bass
Jess Moody, drums 

John R. Lamkin, II, Ph.D., served as Director of Bands and Coordinator of Music and Music Education at University of Maryland Eastern Shore. He was instrumental in attracting several jazz icons to work and perform with his students. His music education degrees are a Bachelor’s from South Carolina State University, a Masters from Morgan University, and a Doctorate from University of Maryland, College Park.

Dr. Lamkin has performed with the Manhattans, the Dells, Stephanie Mills, Maurice Hines, Sonny Stitt, Charlie Earland, Frank Foster, Harvey Mason, Cyrus Chestnut, The Washington Jazz Battalion, The Baltimore City Big Band, the Lynn Gray Orchestra, and the Hank Levy Legacy Big Band. Dr. Lamkin has also performed with his professional jazz groups “The John Lamkin ‘Favorites’ Jazz Quintet” and “The John Lamkin ‘Sacred’ Jazz Quintet.” In the mid-1980s, Dr. Lamkin recorded an album titled, “Hot” which, is still available on vinyl. In  2018, he recorded a second CD titled “Transitions” , and the group will be playing selections from that CD for this performance.. 

Dr. Lamkin grew up in Atlantic City when live jazz music filled many of its streets, and was an integral part of the community’s entertainment district; especially during the summer. It was during these formative years that he fell in love with music, particularly the sound of jazz, and realized then that he was called to dedicate his life to the perpetuation of our American Musical Treasure – Jazz. 

Streaming cost is $5
Donations are welcomed.

Upcoming Events

Thu, August 13, 7:00 PM

Craig Alston Birthday Celebration LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Fri, August 14, 7:00 PM

Marc Cary Solo Jazz Piano LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sat, August 15, 2:00 PM

Dong Xi (East-West) LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sat, August 15, 7:00 PM

Benito Gonzalez Trio

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, August 16, 2:00 PM

Bill Heid Trio LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Fri, August 21, 8:00 PM

Jeff Rymes and The Lost Generation EXCLUSIVE BROADCAST

Get Access to the Broadcast →

Sat, August 22, 7:00 PM

Gabrielle Goodman and Friends LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Mon, August 24, 7:00 PM

Todd Simon Solo Jazz Piano LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Wed, August 26, 7:00 PM

Reginald Cyntje & Allyn Johnson Duo LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Thu, August 27, 7:00 PM

Rufus Roundtree and Da B'more Brass Factory LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Fri, August 28, 7:00 PM

Peravon Jazz Trio LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sat, August 29, 7:00 PM

Jazz Piano Protege Jose Andre LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Mon, August 31, 7:00 PM

Percussion Discussion 2 with Lafayette Gilchrist & Kevin Pinder LIVE STREAM

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sat, September 5, 7:30 PM

Nick Sjostrom LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, September 6, 2:00 PM

Orrin Evans: 2020 Jazz Piano Series

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 12, 3:00 PM

Guitarist Ana Vidovic LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, September 13, 3:00 PM

Guitarist Ana Vidovic LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Mon, September 14, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Monday Series

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 24, 7:00 PM

Rick Alberico Jazz Project LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, September 27, 12:00 PM

Jazz Vocal Workshop

Please pay instructor at workshop. →

Mon, October 5, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 12, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Monday Series

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 19, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 25, 12:00 PM

Jazz Vocal Workshop

Please pay instructor at workshop. →

Sun, November 8, 2:00 PM

Charles Covington: 2020 Jazz Piano Series

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 9, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 16, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Monday Series

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 21, 2:00 PM

Pianist Hélène Papadopoulos

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 23, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 27, 8:00 PM

Billy Price Charm City Rhythm Band

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 29, 12:00 PM

Jazz Vocal Workshop

Please pay instructor at workshop. →