Quarantine Concert Series #57: Bob Butta: 2020 Jazz Piano Series

An die Musik Live!

409 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, MD 21201

Bob Butta

A bi-monthly series to promote and focus on the innovation of
the jazz piano, featuring local and national artists 

**This is access to a recording of his live performance on our stage on July 12, 2020.**

Bob Butta long ago established himself as a pianist deserving greater recognition. Now that he's released his first recording of straight-ahead jazz as a leader, he no longer has to rely on word of mouth to promote his talent and interests. The music on "Windows" speaks volumes.

Beginning with his own "C Minor Fantasy," a lovely melding of Bill Evans's "We Will Meet Again" and Cedar Walton's "Holy Land," it's clear that Butta isn't one to emphasize technique at the expense of taste. He brings to this imaginative jazz suite an overriding sense of logic, lyricism and form. As the album unfolds, and he aggressively explores Oscar Pettiford's "Blues in the Closet," captures the bright vistas evoked by the album's Chick Corea-penned title cut, and tenderly reprises "I Loves You Porgy," Butta never fails to communicate just what it is about these themes that he found so attractive in the first place, whether it's something soulful, vibrant or powerfully haunting.

Streaming cost is $5
Donations are welcomed.

Upcoming Events

Fri, August 14, 7:00 PM

Marc Cary Solo Jazz Piano LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sat, August 15, 2:00 PM

Dong Xi (East-West) LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sat, August 15, 7:00 PM

Benito Gonzalez Trio

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, August 16, 2:00 PM

Bill Heid Trio LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Fri, August 21, 8:00 PM

Jeff Rymes and The Lost Generation EXCLUSIVE BROADCAST

Get Access to the Broadcast →

Sat, August 22, 7:00 PM

Gabrielle Goodman and Friends LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, August 23, 3:00 PM

Mayu Saeki, flute & Warren Wolf, piano LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Mon, August 24, 7:00 PM

Todd Simon Solo Jazz Piano LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Wed, August 26, 7:00 PM

Reginald Cyntje & Allyn Johnson Duo LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Thu, August 27, 7:00 PM

Rufus Roundtree and Da B'more Brass Factory LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Fri, August 28, 7:00 PM

Peravon Jazz Trio LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sat, August 29, 7:00 PM

Jazz Piano Protege Jose Andre LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, August 30, 5:00 PM

Porkchop LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Mon, August 31, 7:00 PM

Percussion Discussion 2 with Lafayette Gilchrist & Kevin Pinder LIVE STREAM

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sat, September 5, 7:30 PM

Nick Sjostrom LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, September 6, 2:00 PM

John Lamkin II 75th Birthday Show LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, September 6, 5:00 PM

Orrin Evans: Solo Jazz Piano LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 12, 3:00 PM

Guitarist Ana Vidovic LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, September 13, 3:00 PM

Guitarist Ana Vidovic LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Mon, September 14, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Monday Series

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 24, 7:00 PM

Rick Alberico Jazz Project LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, September 27, 12:00 PM

Jazz Vocal Workshop

Please pay instructor at workshop. →

Mon, October 5, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 12, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Monday Series

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 19, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 25, 12:00 PM

Jazz Vocal Workshop

Please pay instructor at workshop. →

Sun, November 8, 2:00 PM

Charles Covington: 2020 Jazz Piano Series

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 9, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 16, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Monday Series

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 21, 2:00 PM

Pianist Hélène Papadopoulos

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 23, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →