Quarantine Concert Series #64: Steve Arnold Birthday Celebration

An die Musik Live!

409 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, MD 21201

Steve Arnold

**This is access to a recording of their live performance on our stage on July 22, 2020.**

Tyler Cassidy, tenor saxophone
Simone Baron, accordion
Nelson Dougherty, guitar
Aleks Izotov,  piano
Stephen Arnold, upright bass
Keith Butler, Jr., drums

Stephen Arnold is a bassist, composer, bandleader, and educator living in Washington, DC. Known for his open ears, earnest expression, and unique musical voice, he has quickly become one of the region’s most in-demand upright and electric bassists. Hailing from Greenfield, MA, Stephen’s earliest connection jazz comes from listening to NEPR’s Jazz à la Mode radio program, which his father would put on every night before bed. (Dizzy Gillespie’s “Swing Low, Sweet Cadillac” was an early favorite song.) He began studying piano at a young age at Artspace in Greenfield and learning music from movies and musicals such as West Side Story and The Sound of Music. In 10th grade at the Academy at Charlemont, he began to learn rock, folk, blues, and soul music under the tutelage of the school’s music director Dave Chalfant, his first bass teacher.

Stephen began seriously studying jazz at the George Washington University, where he was privileged to have studied with Herman Burney Jr., who gave him his first formal lessons on the upright bass and continues to be an important teacher, role model, and mentor. After graduating in 2017, he dove headfirst into DC’s vibrant and diverse music scene, playing straight-ahead jazz, funk, Brazilian, rock, and fusion. In 2018 he was selected for Betty Carter’s Jazz Ahead program at the Kennedy Center. 

As a sideman, Stephen performs regularly with Donvonte’ McCoy, Alison Crockett, Samuel Prather’s Groove Orchestra, Sharon Clark, George V. Johnson Jr., Aaron Myers, Sarah Hughes, Keith Butler Jr., and Simone Baron’s Arco Belo. In addition to leading his own groups, Stephen is a member of and featured on studio recordings by not-jazz band ¡FIASCO! and adventure-music ensemble The New World. Regardless of the setting, Arnold brings inspired energy and emotional passion to the music he plays.

Stephen leads and performs his original compositions in Sea Change. The group’s upcoming debut release features Arnold on upright bass leading a sextet with Brian Settles on tenor saxophone, Simone Baron on accordion, Aleks Izotov on piano, Nelson Dougherty on guitar, and Keith Butler Jr. on drums, as well as a guest appearance from Sarah Hughes on soprano saxophone. 

Streaming cost is $5
Donations are welcomed.

Upcoming Events

Fri, August 14, 7:00 PM

Marc Cary Solo Jazz Piano LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sat, August 15, 2:00 PM

Dong Xi (East-West) LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sat, August 15, 7:00 PM

Benito Gonzalez Trio

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, August 16, 2:00 PM

Bill Heid Trio LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Fri, August 21, 8:00 PM

Jeff Rymes and The Lost Generation EXCLUSIVE BROADCAST

Get Access to the Broadcast →

Sat, August 22, 7:00 PM

Gabrielle Goodman and Friends LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, August 23, 3:00 PM

Mayu Saeki, flute & Warren Wolf, piano LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Mon, August 24, 7:00 PM

Todd Simon Solo Jazz Piano LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Wed, August 26, 7:00 PM

Reginald Cyntje & Allyn Johnson Duo LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Thu, August 27, 7:00 PM

Rufus Roundtree and Da B'more Brass Factory LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Fri, August 28, 7:00 PM

Peravon Jazz Trio LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sat, August 29, 7:00 PM

Jazz Piano Protege Jose Andre LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, August 30, 5:00 PM

Porkchop LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Mon, August 31, 7:00 PM

Percussion Discussion 2 with Lafayette Gilchrist & Kevin Pinder LIVE STREAM

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sat, September 5, 7:30 PM

Nick Sjostrom LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, September 6, 2:00 PM

John Lamkin II 75th Birthday Show LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, September 6, 5:00 PM

Orrin Evans: Solo Jazz Piano LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 12, 3:00 PM

Guitarist Ana Vidovic LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, September 13, 3:00 PM

Guitarist Ana Vidovic LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Mon, September 14, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Monday Series

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 24, 7:00 PM

Rick Alberico Jazz Project LIVE STREAMING CONCERT

Get Access to the Live Stream →

Sun, September 27, 12:00 PM

Jazz Vocal Workshop

Please pay instructor at workshop. →

Mon, October 5, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 12, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Monday Series

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 19, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 25, 12:00 PM

Jazz Vocal Workshop

Please pay instructor at workshop. →

Sun, November 8, 2:00 PM

Charles Covington: 2020 Jazz Piano Series

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 9, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 16, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Monday Series

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 21, 2:00 PM

Pianist Hélène Papadopoulos

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 23, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam

Get Tickets →