Heyni Solera and Rodrigo Avalos

Video

Heyni Solera
Rodrigo Avalos

BACH AND THE BANDONEON:

The bandoneon has long been considered the iconic instrument of tango, but its origins began very far from Argentina. Created in Germany to replace the organ in remote churches, the bandoneon was intended to be played in a variety of genres. Bandoneonists, Heyni Solera and Rodrigo Avalos, explore the other possibilities of this beautiful instrument through their selected arrangements of Bach’s well-tempered clavier, and their own compositions that pay homage to this master of baroque music. They will also perform tango duos that highlight the other capabilities of this versatile instrument, making this an evening you won't forget!

PROGRAM

WELL-TEMPERED CLAVIER:
MIRRORING BOOKS
Prelude and Fugue XII Book 1
Prelude and Fugue XII Book 2
Prelude and Fugue XVI Book 1
Prelude and Fugue XVI Book 2 

HOMAGE TO BACH 
Heyni’s Prelude and Fugue I Book 1
Rodrigo’s Prelude and Fugue I Book 2 

IT TAKES TWO TO TANGO
Cautivante 
 L. Federico, arr. R. Boero 
Nada 
 Jose Dames, arr. H. Solera 
Julian 
 E. Donato, arr. P. Jaurena 
Nieblas 
 de Riachuelo J.C. Cobian, arr. P. Jaurena 

Showtime: 6 pm ET/5 pm CT/4 pm MT/3 pm PT/10 pm GMT

Limited in-person seats:  $25 / $10 full-time students with valid ID
Proof of COVID-19 vaccination required at door

In -person attendees receive a link to the recording to view for one week.

Streaming  Cost is $15
The link will be revealed to live stream participants 15 minutes before the show

and will remain active through May 28

Donations welcome

 

An die Musik Live!

409 N. Charles St. Baltimore, MD 21201

  • 410-385-2638

Proof of COVID-19 vaccination is required at the door.