Orrin Evans

Nicholas Payton [trumpet]
Gary Thomas [tenor saxophone]
Orrin Evans [piano]
Robert Hurst [bass]
Marvin "Smitty" Smith [drums]

Pianist Orrin Evans leads a new dream quintet featuring trumpeter Nicholas Payton, saxophonist Gary Thomas, bassist Robert Hurst, and drummer Marvin "Smitty" Smith, a formidable group that he will take into the recording studio after these performances. Evans is a master at assembling spirited groups and he will be hard pressed to top this virtuosic one in the future. The New York Times reports, “Mr. Evans is a viable candidate for jazz’s most resourceful and invigorating contemporary pianist,” while WBGO radio adds that he is “a highly esteemed pianist with post-bop dynamism in his bloodstream.”


One hell of jazz pianist.” – All About Jazz

Smoke Jazz Club

2751 Broadway New York, NY 10025

  • 212.864.6662

*Please read our Ticket Purchase Policy

Please note: When patrons accidentally buy seats at different tables, management reserves the right to move your seats to an adjacent table to keep parties together.