Fri May 16

Arturo Sandoval

8PM / $45 Buy Tickets
Blues Alley

1073 Wisconsin Ave. NW
Washington, DC 20007

Arturo Sandoval

Arturo Sandoval is fluent in at least four musical languages. He can burn through an Afro-Cuban groove, tear up a bebop tune, soar over a Mozart concerto and sooth you with a luscious ballad; with equal power and grace.

Granted political asylum in July 1990 and US citizenship in 1999, Sandoval and his family now call Miami, Florida home. A protégé of the legendary jazz master Dizzy Gillespie, Sandoval was born in Artemisa, a small town in the outskirts of Havana, Cuba, on November 6, 1949, just two years after Gillespie became the first musician to bring Latin influences into American Jazz. Sandoval began studying classical trumpet at the age of twelve, but it didn’t take him long to catch the excitement of the jazz world. He has since evolved into one of the World’s most acknowledged guardians of jazz trumpet and flugel horn, as well as a renowned classical artist, pianist and composer.

Visit Website
Watch Video

8PM / $45 Buy Tickets
Upcoming Events

Sat, April 19

Triumphant Trumpets

Get Tickets →

Mon, April 21

Trio Vera

Get Tickets →

Tue, April 22

Bob Mintzer & Andrew White

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 23

USAF Airmen of Note with saxophonist Bob Mintzer

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 23

Nasar Abadey & Super Nova

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 24 - Sun, April 27

Yellowjackets

Get Tickets →

Mon, April 28

Roni Ben-Hur

Get Tickets →

Tue, April 29

The Columbia Jazz Band

Get Tickets →

Tue, April 29

Moonlight Jazz Orchestra

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 30

Christiana Drapkin & Mike Gellar Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 4

John Pizzarelli

Get Tickets →