Sat Sep 30

Roy Buchanan Tribute

Sat, September 30
8PM / $25
Choose Seats
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

Roy Buchanan Tribute

This tribute to revered  Washinton, D.C.-based and world renowned artist Roy Buchanan brings together musicians from all over the country who played and recorded with Roy during his career and were inspired by him. After a successful career as a highly sought-after studio musician, Roy released 13 studio albums and three live albums under his own name. Guitar Player magazine praised him as having one of the “50 Greatest Tones of All Time,” and he is included in Rolling Stonemagazine’s list of “100 Greatest Guitarists.” He influenced and inspired countless rock and blues guitarists including Gary Moore, Jeff Beck, Robbie Robertson, and Nils Lofgren.

Pittsburgh, Pa. based R&B/soul singer Billy Price, who toured and recorded with Roy in the 1970s, organized this tribute, which will include two musicians he performed with during his stint with Buchanan—drummer Robbie Magruder and keyboard player Malcolm Lukens—as well as other alumni of Buchanan’s bands: Bill Heid (keyboards), Vince Santoro (drums), and Carey Zeigler (bass). Also appearing are DC-area guitarists whom Roy influenced, Tom PrincipatoDave ChappellGantt Kushner, and Anthony Pirog; and DC veterans Steve Wolf (bass) and Tommy Lepson (keyboards). Former Muddy Waters sideman and recording artist Bob Margolin will also appear as a featured guest.

Bill Wax, Host of WPFW's weekly "Roots and Fruits" show, and former host and program director of Bluesville on XM Satellite Radio, will serve as emcee. Join us for a great night of music dedicated to one of the world’s most distinguished and influential musicians.

Sat, September 30

8PM / $25
Choose Seats
Upcoming Events

Wed, September 20, 8:00 PM

Mycah Chevalier:A celebration of life & preview new CD The Creole Butterfly

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 21, 8:00 PM

Michael Henderson & Cherrelle - Starship Landing

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 22, 8:00 PM

Marcus Johnson

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 23, 8:00 PM

Be'la Dona

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 24, 7:30 PM

A Tribute to the Music of The O'Jays featuring FOREVER YOURS

Get Tickets →

Wed, September 27, 8:00 PM

CoCo Montoya + Vintage #18

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 28, 10:59 PM

Private Event

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 29, 8:00 PM

Dexter Wansel Presents Sounds Of Philadelphia

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 1, 5:30 PM

Briclyn Ent. Pink Alive Breast Cancer Awareness Concert w/ Maimouna Youssef

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 5, 8:00 PM

Drew Davidsen

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 6, 8:00 PM

Miriamm Wright, EPW Breast Cancer Foundation

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 7, 8:00 PM

John Lennon Birthday Tribute

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 8, 8:00 PM

EU (Experience Unlimited)

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 13, 7:00 PM

Incognito

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 13, 10:00 PM

Incognito

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 14, 10:59 PM

Private Event

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 15, 7:30 PM

A Tribute to the Music of Gerald Levert, Donny Hathaway and More

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 19, 8:00 PM

The Sidleys and The Eric Scott Band

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 20, 8:00 PM

Wayne Linsey Howard Homecoming Concert

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 21, 10:59 PM

Private Event

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 22, 7:00 PM

A Tribute to the Music of Stephanie Mills, Chaka Khan and Aretha Franklin

Get Tickets →

Wed, October 25, 8:00 PM

BJ Jansen & Common Ground featuring Delfeayo Marsalis and Duane Eubanks

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 28, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 28, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 29, 7:30 PM

Billy Gilman

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 2, 8:00 PM

Hank Levy Legacy Band

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 3, 8:00 PM

An Evening with Jesse Colin Young and Band

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 5, 7:30 PM

Selina Albright & Steve Cole

Get Tickets →

Wed, November 8, 8:00 PM

Life's rich! A Centennial Birthday Celebration of The Music of Buddy Rich

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 9, 8:00 PM

Jeanette Harris & Special Guest CeCe Peniston

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 10, 8:00 PM

HOT MESS BURLESQUE & The Texas Chainsaw Horns

Get Tickets →