Sat Jun 10

Jazz From a African-Latin Perspective

Sat, June 10
2PM / Free
Buy Tickets
East River Jazz | Be Mo Jazz

Smithsonian Anacostia Communithy Museum, 1901 Fort Pl SE
Washington, DC 20020

Pepe Gonzalez Afro-Cuban Jazz

Jazz From a African-Latin Perspective

It was in the 1940's that “Latin Jazz” had its introduction within the Bebop era when Dizzy Gillespie incorporated Chano Pozo, the great Cuban percussionist, into the prominent music of that time. Bassist Pepe Gonzalez will explore how Africanism, in what some people call Latin Music, is expressed in Jazz music.

Sat, June 10

2PM / Free
Buy Tickets
Upcoming Events

Sat, April 29, 2:00 PM

Night Bird Song: Thomas Chapin Film

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 13, 2:00 PM

The Write Kind of Jazz Workshop

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 21, 2:00 PM

Ella Fitzgerald " America's First Lady Of Song": Music and Spoken Word

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 27, 2:00 PM

Be Bop by John Birks "Dizzy" Gillespie

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 9, 7:00 PM

Mad Monk

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 11, 10:00 AM

Mystical Monk

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 11, 2:00 PM

Remembering Lady Ella

Get Tickets →

Mon, June 12, 7:00 PM

"Birks' Works: The Music of Dizzy Gillespie"

Get Tickets →

Tue, June 13, 7:00 PM

Exploring Monk & Other Interesting Music

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 24, 2:00 PM

Jazz Criticism: Nat Hentoff's Jazz Journey

Get Tickets →