Sun Apr 9

Levon Mikaelian

Sun, April 9
8PM / $10
Buy Tickets
Twins Jazz

1344 U. St. NW
Washington, DC 20009

Levon Mikaelian

United Shades Of Artistry, the self-titled debut recording of a quartet founded in 2014 by pianist and composer Levon Mikaelian, mines the riches found in both milieu. A native of Yerevan, Aremenia, whose family emigrated to the U.S. after the collapse of the Soviet Union, Mikaelian’s band features guitarist John Lee, bassist Blake Meisterand Nigerian drummer Tosin Aribisala. Each member contributes a unique and personal instrumental vision and voice and together they deliver an eloquent musical statement that fuses elements of modern jazz, rock, Eastern European, Latin and African music and rhythms. 

- All About Jazz

 

A global music excursion taking the harmonic road less traveled, a release of balance and depth!

-Brent Black

 

Armenian drive, African rhythm and American creativity. God, I love it when boys from different sandboxes get together and play – don’t you?

Trish Hennessey 

 

Armenian drive, African rhythm and American creativity. God, I love it when boys from different sandboxes get together and play – don’t you? Hah! I don’t know what Levon intends to do with touring in support of his work – most of these compositions are original and beg to be heard – but one thing is sure. When more discerning ears hear “United Shades of Artistry”, their appetite for creative Jazz will be re-awakened. 

         - Trish Hennessey

 

 


 

Sun, April 9

8PM / $10
Buy Tickets
Upcoming Events

Wed, March 29, 8:00 PM

BSQ

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 29, 10:00 PM

BSQ

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 30, 8:30 PM

THE TWINS JAZZ ORCHESTRA

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 30, 10:30 PM

THE TWINS JAZZ ORCHESTRA

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 31, 9:00 PM

Reginald Cyntje

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 31, 11:00 PM

Reginald Cyntje

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 1, 9:00 PM

Reginald Cyntje

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 1, 11:00 PM

Reginald Cyntje

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 2, 8:00 PM

Nelson Dougherty

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 2, 10:00 PM

Nelson Dougherty

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 5, 8:00 PM

Deon CleanCutt,

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 5, 10:00 PM

Deon CleanCutt,

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 6, 8:30 PM

THE TWINS JAZZ ORCHESTRA

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 6, 10:30 PM

THE TWINS JAZZ ORCHESTRA

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 7, 9:00 PM

The Radiohead Jazz Project

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 7, 11:00 PM

The Radiohead Jazz Project

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 8, 9:00 PM

The Radiohead Jazz Project

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 8, 11:00 PM

The Radiohead Jazz Project

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 9, 10:00 PM

Levon Mikaelian

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 12, 8:00 PM

Jozef Nadj

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 12, 10:00 PM

Jozef Nadj

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 13, 8:30 PM

THE TWINS JAZZ ORCHESTRA

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 13, 10:30 PM

THE TWINS JAZZ ORCHESTRA

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 14, 9:00 PM

Tim Whalen

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 14, 11:00 PM

Tim Whalen

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 15, 9:00 PM

Tim Whalen

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 15, 11:00 PM

Tim Whalen

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 16, 8:00 PM

Nancy Harms

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 16, 10:00 PM

Nancy Harms

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 19, 8:00 PM

Abby Schaffer

Get Tickets →

Wed, April 19, 10:00 PM

Abby Schaffer

Get Tickets →