Mon Dec 4

Nate Hook Jam Session

Mon, December 4
7:30PM / $5 - $10
Buy Tickets
An die Musik Live!

409 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, MD 21201

Joshua Espinoza and Alex Meadow

Born and raised in Texas, Nate Hook’s music embodies the full tone and rich creativity of great horn players from the Lone Star State.  Playing saxophone and piano as a youngster, he learned from the top musicians in the Austin community, including Justin Vasquez, Jeff Helmer, Paul White, Tony Campise, and Alex Bohrer, and performed with groups at the University of Texas, The Elephant Room, and other venues.  Nate moved from Texas and into the East Coast jazz world when he attended William Paterson University, where he studied with Vincent Herring, Harold Mabern, Bill Mobley, and Bill Goodwin, among others.

By 2012, Nate was performing around NYC at locales like Smalls, Smoke, The Lenox Lounge, The Zinc Bar, The Stone, and others.  Living in NYC, he also had the opportunity to perform alongside Jean Michel Pilc, Carlo De Rosa, Bill Goodwin, and others.  In 2013, he started the band “Progressive Overload,” which will release their first album in the fall of 2016.As a resident of Baltimore, Nate studied with Gary Thomas and earned a performance degree from the Peabody Conservatory.  He has worked in recent years with Ralph Peterson, Alex Norris, Paul Bollenback, and Bob Butta, just to name a few.  In the spring of 2016, Nate played bass clarinet in Gary Thomas’ “Pariah’s Pariahs” ensemble, a recording of which will be available later this year.

Nate also plays bagpipes, as did John Coltrane — a little-known fact about each.

$10 adults/$5 full-time students with ID

Mon, December 4

7:30PM / $5 - $10
Buy Tickets
Upcoming Events

Fri, April 28, 8:00 PM

Iva Ambush Celebrates Ella

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 28, 9:30 PM

Iva Ambush Celebrates Ella

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 29, 8:00 PM

Eric Person TrioKinesis

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 29, 9:30 PM

Eric Person TrioKinesis

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 30, 1:30 PM

Daniel Schwait Homecoming Concert: Still Too Young

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 30, 5:00 PM

Bright Moments Septet

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 2, 8:00 PM

Marbin

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 4, 8:00 PM

Nate Hook/Theljon Allen Band

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 4, 9:30 PM

Nate Hook/Theljon Allen Band

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 5, 8:00 PM

Debut performance of Pipa virtuoso Xiaofen Min & Friends

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 6, 2:00 PM

Messiaen's Harawi

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 6, 8:00 PM

Folkal Point: Birdhouse with Skribe

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 7, 5:00 PM

Alan MacEwan & James Von Lenz: Roots Cafe Singer-Songwriter Series

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 8, 7:30 PM

Monday Jazz Jam hosted by Alex Meadow and Joshua Espinoza

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 9, 7:00 PM

Evolution Contemporary Music Series: Julia Wolfe

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 11, 8:00 PM

Double Bill: Allison Dietz & Naked Blue

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 12, 8:00 PM

The Music of Clifford Jordan

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 12, 9:30 PM

The Music of Clifford Jordan

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 13, 8:00 PM

We Three: Mark Whitfield, John Lamkin & Kris Funn

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 13, 9:30 PM

We Three: Mark Whitfield, John Lamkin & Kris Funn

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 15, 7:00 PM

Dunbar Alumni Jazz Band - Monthly Mondays

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 16, 7:30 PM

Peabody Jazz Students, Alumni & Friends

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 18, 8:00 PM

Alex Brown Trio featuring Victor Provost

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 18, 9:30 PM

Alex Brown Trio featuring Victor Provost

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 19, 8:00 PM

Simona Premazzi Trio "Outspoken"

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 19, 9:30 PM

Simona Premazzi Trio "Outspoken"

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 20, 2:00 PM

DUO Stephanie and Saar The Art of Fugue CD Release Concert

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 20, 8:00 PM

Walt Weiskopf 4tet

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 20, 9:30 PM

Walt Weiskopf 4tet

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 21, 3:30 PM

Oboe/Piano Recital to Benefit Baltimore School for the Arts

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 21, 7:00 PM

Sophia Subbayya Vastek Album Release Concert

Get Tickets →