Sat Sep 30

Eddie Baccus Sr. Quintet + Special Guests

Sat, September 30
8:30PM / $20
Get Tickets
Nighttown

12387 Cedar Road
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106

Eddie Baccus Sr. & Friends

Cleveland Jazz Legend & Hammond B-3 Master leads All-Star Group live at Nighttown!

Featuring: Eddie Baccus Sr.-Hammond B-3 Organ, Cecil Rucker-vibes, Billy Artis-guitar, Perry Williams III-drums, Mike Cady-vocals + Special Guests TBA

One of the senior statesman of the Cleveland Jazz Scene, organist Eddie Baccus Sr. has set the standard locally since the early 1960's.  Like the late great Jimmy Smith, Baccus is a virtuoso on the Hammond B-3, equally adept at soul jazz and bebop.  In many ways Eddie Baccus Sr. has been to the jazz scene what the late Robert Jr. Lockwood was to the local blues scene; he has been a leader, mentor, and the soul of the community for many years.

Early on his talent was evident as he was linked with another jazz legend, saxophonist Roland Kirk.  Baccus and Kirk were schoolmates at the Ohio School of the Blind and their sessions together in the old Euclid and 105th area are the stuff of local legends.  Kirk would go on to national acclaim before his untimely death in the late 70's.  Baccus stayed close to home and it has been our good fortune.

Eddie Baccus Sr. has been a mentor to countless Cleveland jazz musicians, notably Joe Lovano, Ernie Krivda, and more recently his son, Eddie Baccus Jr..  His work has only been documented infrequently.  He recorded an LP with Kirk back in 1962 "Feel Real" on Smash records.  His other recording is a session done with Lovano in the mid 1980's entitled "Hometown Sessions".  Although he has not gone on to greater glory playing the national circuit,  Eddie Baccus Sr.  has been the bedrock of the Cleveland jazz scene and his influence on fans and musicians alike has been invaluable.
 
Joining Eddie Baccus Sr. for his appearance at Nighttown will be an All-Star Cleveland lineup.  They are Cecil Rucker on the Vibes.  Eddie Sr. has frequently appeared with Cecil's group Good Vibes.  Billy Artis is on guitar.  Many will remember Billy from his days backing the late great Bill Doggett at the Theatrical in downtown Cleveland.  Perry Williams III is on drums.  Perry is a veteran on the soul jazz circuit and has worked with Eddie Sr. and Cecil extensively.  And on vocals is Ron Davis.
 
Don't miss Hammond B-3 wizard Eddie Baccus Sr. Quartet live at Nighttown.

Watch Video

Sat, September 30

8:30PM / $20
Get Tickets

No need to make an additional table reservation - it's already included with these concert tickets!! You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional terms and conditions.

Upcoming Events

Sat, September 23, 8:30 PM

Sam Hooper Group

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 24, 7:00 PM

Maria Jacobs

Get Tickets →

Wed, September 27, 7:00 PM

Vicky Chew

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 28, 8:00 PM

Hot Club of San Francisco

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 29, 8:30 PM

Glenn Davis Quintet featuring Evelyn Wright

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 2, 7:00 PM

"The Last 5 Years" featuring Corey Mach & Keri Rene Fuller

Get Tickets →

Wed, October 4, 7:00 PM

Brandon Coleman Quartet featuring Noah Preminger

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 5, 8:00 PM

Vanessa Rubin / Don Braden Organ Quintet

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 6, 8:00 PM

Debbie Darling

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 6, 8:30 PM

Morgan Mecaskey & Nate Jones

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 7, 8:30 PM

Antoinette Tredanary

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 9, 7:00 PM

Eric Andersen

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 10, 7:00 PM

Paul Ferguson / Greg Abate Quintet

Get Tickets →

Wed, October 11, 7:00 PM

Benny Bennack Quartet

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 13, 8:30 PM

Nellie McKay

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 14, 8:30 PM

Nellie McKay

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 15, 7:00 PM

Mo Mojo

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 19, 8:00 PM

Gabrielle Stravelli Quartet

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 20, 8:30 PM

Diego Figueiredo & Chuchito Valdes

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 21, 8:30 PM

Diego Figueiredo & Chuchito Valdes

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 23, 7:00 PM

"Out There: BW Alumni Return to Cleveland"

Get Tickets →

Wed, October 25, 7:00 PM

Mark Russo Quintet - Tribute to Horace Silver

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 26, 7:00 PM

Chieli Minucci & Special EFX

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 26, 9:00 PM

Chieli Minucci & Special EFX

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 27, 8:30 PM

Ralph Moore with the Josh Nelson Tro

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 28, 8:30 PM

The Numbers Band (15-60-75)

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 29, 7:00 PM

Chanelle McCloud & Chemistry

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 3, 8:00 PM

Alex Bugnon

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 3, 10:00 PM

Alex Bugnon

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 4, 8:00 PM

Alex Bugnon

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 4, 10:00 PM

Alex Bugnon

Get Tickets →