Fri Aug 24

Kirk Whalum with special guest Zahara

Fri, August 24
8PM / $59.50 - $79.50
Get Tickets
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

Kirk Whalum

Soulful, passionate, stirring...these are the words most often used to describe Kirk’s music. Forged from his Memphis, (TN) gospel roots and his 1980‘s initiation into the thriving Houston, TX nightclub scene, Kirk’s big, rich tenor sound is unmistakably his. The 80’s were highlighted by Kirk’s stepping out of his blossoming sideman role and forming his own band. It was there that Kirk ultimately developed both his “voice” and songwriting in the crucible of the local club scene––especially at a rooftop club called Cody’s. It was also in Houston where jazz pianist Bob James “discovered” him and brought him on tour, which led to five successful albums with Columbia Records, including Cache, Kirk’s first #1 album. As well, Kirk and Bob received a Grammy nomination for their collaboration album, Joined at the Hip. After moving to Los Angeles, Kirk became an in demand session player for top artists like, Barbara Streisand, Al Jarreau, Luther Vandross, Larry Carlton, Quincy Jones and most notably, Whitney Houston, amongst many others. It’s his sax heard on the mega-hit, “I Will Always Love You.” Kirk soon followed that career high point with his phenomenal hit album released on Warner Bros. Records, For You, perhaps the most successful of over 25 solo recordings to date; others include his eclectic, and much lauded, Gospel According to Jazz series, (Chapters 1, 2, 3 and 4). In addition to his many solo projects, Kirk was also a member of the popular soul/jazz group, BWB, which features Kirk as the “W” of the group with Rick Braun (trumpet) and Norman Brown (guitar).

An ordained minister, Kirk has earned a Masters of Art in Religion. It’s in this spirit that he serves his community in various ways when his touring schedule allows. There is also his daily fifteen minute podcast, Bible In Your Ear (BIYE), in which he invites you to listen along as he reads through the Bible in a year. In addition to music and ministry, Kirk has a passion to educate young, aspiring musicians and is currently engaged as a music professor at Visible Music College in his hometown of Memphis.

Kirk is the recipient of numerous awards and acknowledgements for his musical excellence including three Dove Award nominations, an NAACP Image Award nomination and has won two Stellar Awards-Gospel music’s highest honor. A twelve time Grammy nominee, Kirk won his first Grammy award (2011)for Best Gospel Song (“It’s What I Do”––featuring Lalah Hathaway) alongside life-long friend and gifted songwriter, Jerry Peters. 

In a career spanning decades, Kirk has a sound that is uniquely his; it is a sound that leaves an indelible imprint on the listener.

Fri, August 24

8PM / $59.50 - $79.50
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Fri, August 17, 8:00 PM

The SOS Band

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 18, 8:00 PM

Ambrosia

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 19, 7:30 PM

A Tribute to the Music of Marvin Gaye and Teddy Pendergrass

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 25, 7:00 PM

Leela James

Get Tickets →

Sat, August 25, 10:00 PM

Leela James

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 31, 8:00 PM

Chante Moore

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 1, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 1, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 2, 8:00 PM

The Original Lakeside and Steve Arrington

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 6, 8:00 PM

Blue Oyster Cult

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 8, 7:00 PM

Voices for Autism Benefit Featuring the B Street Band

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 13, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 14, 8:00 PM

Funkateers Ball Betty Davis Tribute Featuring Funk House

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 15, 8:00 PM

Funkateers Ball featuring Clones of Funk with MC Bootsy Collins

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 21, 7:30 PM

Peabo Bryson

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 21, 10:00 PM

Peabo Bryson

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 28, 7:00 PM

The Manhattan Transfer

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 4, 7:30 PM

Clemente Music Rocks! 10th Anniversary Benefit Concert

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 7, 7:30 PM

Bill Laurance (original member of Snarky Puppy)

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 11, 8:00 PM

Miriamm turns Bethesda Blues Pink in honor of Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 12, 8:00 PM

Howard Hewett

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 13, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 20, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 26, 8:00 PM

The Rippingtons feat. Russ Freeman

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 4, 1:00 PM

Take 6

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 4, 7:00 PM

Take 6

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 8, 7:00 PM

Lalah Hathaway

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 8, 9:45 PM

Lalah Hathaway

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 16, 8:00 PM

Walter Beasley

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 23, 8:00 PM

Kindred the Family Soul

Get Tickets →

Thu, December 6, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →