Tue Jun 5

Midge Ure and Paul Young

Tue, June 5
8PM / $35
Get Tickets
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

Midge Ure, Paul Young

"There are many things I get involved with, outside the regular areas of my music. Things I do with Save the Children and Band Aid. The various radio shows I narrate for the BBC. The books, print and electronic, audio and photograph. The oddities I seem to have been part of over the years alongside oddities I hope to be part of in the future." - Midge Ure

www.midgeure.co.uk/

www.twitter.com/midgeure1

www.facebook.com/pages/Midge-Ure/275159919205373

www.margotmacdonald.com

www.twitter.com/margotmacdonald

www.instagram.com/margotmacdonald

www.facebook.com/margotmacdonaldmusic

 

An artist who has received Ivor Novello, Grammy, BASCAP awards along with a flotilla of gold and platinum records, really needs very little introduction. Musical success is seldom measured in time spans of more than a few years, if not Andy Warhol's often quoted "fifteen minutes", so the fact that by the time Midge's single "If I Was" went to No1 in 1985 he had already crammed several musical lifetimes into a 10 year professional career speaks volumes - Slik, The Rich Kids, Thin Lizzy, Visage, Ultravox and of course the most famous one off group in musical history Band Aid had by then all had the guiding hand of his musical navigation.


Then you have to take account of Midge's musical directorship of a series of rock concerts for The Prince's Trust, Night of the Proms, Wicked Women for Breakthrough and in honour of Nelson Mandela; record production for Phil Lynott, Steve Harley and countless others; his video direction of memorable hits by the Fun Boy Three, Bananarama and others, or a whole swathe of landmark singles by Ultravox; TV, theatre and film music credits ranging from 'Max Headroom' to stage and big screen. 2015, being the 20th anniversary of Breathe being completed, Midge decided to perform the album in it’s entirety for the first time. Ably accompanied by the boys from The India Electric Company, who had caught Midge’s attention at a show in 2013, the songs took on a new dimension and the show was a total success both with the critics and audiences throughout the UK and Europe. A live CD of the show was released by Oblivion/SPV.


Never content with his many achievements Ure now embarks on a North American tour with a couple of American musician friends, this time with electric guitar and synthesizer in tow.

Visit Website
Watch Video

Tue, June 5

8PM / $35
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Thu, April 26, 8:00 PM

Mike Phillips

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 27, 8:00 PM

Conya Doss feat Lin Rountree

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 28, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 29, 7:30 PM

Melba Moore

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 2, 8:00 PM

Jazzy Blu

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 3, 8:00 PM

Jody Watley and SRL

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 5, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 5, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 6, 7:30 PM

Millie Jackson w/ Special Guest: Full Power Blues Band

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 10, 8:00 PM

Beegie Adair Trio featuring Monica Ramey

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 11, 8:00 PM

The Swon Brothers

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 12, 7:00 PM

Stokley of Mint Condition

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 12, 10:00 PM

BY POPULAR DEMAND 10pm SHOW ADDED: Stokley of Mint Condition

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 13, 1:00 PM

Mother's Day with Regina Belle

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 13, 6:00 PM

Mother's Day with Regina Belle

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 17, 8:00 PM

Eddie Levert of the O'Jays

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 19, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 20, 8:00 PM

Vivian Green

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 22, 7:30 PM

B-CC HS Jazz Ensemble and the MCPS Faculty Big Band

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 24, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 25, 8:00 PM

Macy Gray

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 27, 8:00 PM

Trent Tomlinson

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 1, 8:00 PM

Stephanie Quayle

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 3, 8:00 PM

Rare Essence

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 7, 8:00 PM

An Evening with Jesse Colin Young and Band

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 8, 8:00 PM

An Evening with Jesse Colin Young and Band

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 10, 8:00 PM

Blues Beatles

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 17, 1:00 PM

ConFunkShun

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 17, 7:00 PM

ConFunkShun

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 22, 8:00 PM

Let It Flow Band

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 30, 8:00 PM

A Tribute To The Music of MOTOWN" featuring THE BRENCORE ALLSTARS BAND

Get Tickets →