Wed Apr 19

Polly Gibbons

Wed, April 19
7PM / $20
Buy Tickets
Nighttown

12387 Cedar Road
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106

Polly Gibbons

Rapidly rising Jazz Vocalist from London, England makes her Cleveland debut at Nighttown!  Featuring music from her new CD, "IS IT ME…?" on Resonance Records.

Receives Second Jazz FM Award Nomination As Best Jazz Vocalist

“I love her voice, really soulful. Can’t wait to hear more of Polly…” – Joss Stone

“She’s got a great voice!” – Van Morrison

Following sold-out tours in the U.K. opening for George Benson and Gladys Knight, including two acclaimed performances at the prestigious Royal Albert Hall, singer/songwriter Polly Gibbons is set to make a British invasion of her own with the release of her highly-anticipated second album, "Is It Me…?" on Resonance Records on April 21, 2017.  The 12-track collection fully embraces  the inspiring, expansive array of American jazz, soul and blues influences that have infused her dynamic career as an artist and live performer,

Polly, who recently earned her second prestigious Best Jazz Vocalist Jazz FM Award Nomination, has been a staple of the UK Jazz Scene since the mid-2000s. In commenting on her new album, she states:  “It’s a massive melting pot, varied but beautifully linked because I love every style I’m singing. Jazz would never have happened without the blues, which came out of the gospel tradition – and blues is the foundation of contemporary Western culture and pop/soul music, and so on.”

The piano and most of the arranging are shared by long time-collaborator James Pearson (whom she performs with regularly at the legendary Ronnie Scott’s Club in London, where he is musical director), and Tamir Hendelman, the Israeli born, L.A. based jazz pianist to the stars, including Barbra Streisand and the Clayton-Hamilton Jazz Orchestra.

A farmer’s daughter who grew up in Framingham, a small market town in Suffolk, England, Polly is one of seven siblings in a family that shared all types of different musical loves. Her mum cherished classical and choral music (Bach, Mozart, Chopin), her dad was an electric bassist who played in bands in the 70’s, her brothers loved R&B and her sisters were all vinyl collectors listening to everything from hip hop and soul, to jazz and folk.

Polly took obligatory piano lessons at age four, but didn’t realize she could sing until she was around 13.  Participating in a local music workshop, she met British singer Ian Shaw, who took Polly under his wing and secured her first gig in London when she was 17. Participating in other workshops, she cultivated her talent with bassist Gill Alexander, Jacqui Dankworth (daughter of Cleo Laine) and later, James Pearson.  She released her critically acclaimed UK debut album My Own Company in 2014

Polly’s road now leads her to one of those extraordinary places with the release of "Is It Me…?" The album is a journey all its own – a culmination of so many moments that also signifies a meaningful new beginning for both the singer and contemporary jazz.

Visit Website
Watch Video

Wed, April 19

7PM / $20
Buy Tickets

No need to make an additional table reservation - it's already included with these concert tickets!! You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional terms and conditions.

Upcoming Events

Fri, March 24, 8:30 PM

Chuchito Valdes

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 25, 8:30 PM

Chuchito Valdes

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 26, 7:00 PM

3Divas

Get Tickets →

Thu, March 30, 8:00 PM

Lorraine Feather & Stephanie Trick

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 31, 8:30 PM

Fareed Haque & The Funk Brothers

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 2, 7:00 PM

Dominick Farinacci with Shenel Johns & Christian Tamburr

Get Tickets →

Mon, April 3, 7:00 PM

Baldwin Wallace Musical Theater

Get Tickets →

Tue, April 4, 7:00 PM

Stephane Wrembel

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 6, 8:00 PM

Charlie Hunter

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 7, 8:30 PM

Pete Cavano & Friends

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 8, 5:00 PM

Cleveland Opera Theater Presents: The Man That Got Away

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 8, 8:00 PM

Cleveland Opera Theater Presents: The Man That Got Away

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 9, 7:00 PM

Cleveland Cello Quartet: Benefit Concert for The Music Settlement

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 14, 8:30 PM

Honeybucket

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 15, 8:30 PM

Raul Midon

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 20, 8:00 PM

Paula Boggs Band

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 21, 8:30 PM

Blue Lunch with Tim Gartland

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 22, 8:30 PM

Eric Comstock & Barbara Fasano

Get Tickets →

Mon, April 24, 7:00 PM

Barbara Rosene

Get Tickets →

Tue, April 25, 7:00 PM

Avram Fefer & Michael Bisio Duo

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 27, 8:00 PM

Kinky Friedman

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 28, 8:30 PM

Nicole Henry

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 29, 8:00 PM

Stanley Jordan

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 29, 10:00 PM

Stanley Jordan

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 30, 7:00 PM

Amina Figarova Quintet

Get Tickets →