Fri May 4

An Evening with John Thomas

Fri, May 4
8PM / $17
Get Tickets
The Mainstay

5753 Main St
Rock Hall, MD 21661

John Thomas

The Mainstay invites you to an evening with John Thomas, Programming Manager of The Mainstay.  John is an acclaimed saxophonist, and The Mainstay hosts him and his modern jazz quartet for an evening standards, original compositions, and arrangements.  Tickets are $17 online advance and $20 phone reservations/door. 

Protean artist John Thomas spans the chasm between the concert and jazz saxophone worlds.  Equally adept at the arts of improvisation and interpretation, he insistently explores the bounds of genre and idiom.  

From his beginnings as a jazz saxophonist, to appearing with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra and composing his own electro-acoustic music, he has refined and expanded his horizons as a performer and educator- a model of the 21st Century musician.

As a classical performer, he has premiered new solo and chamber works both in the US and abroad. He actively performs the standard repertoire of the saxophone, as well new works by young composers and electro-acoustic compositions. 

As a jazz musician, Mr. Thomas has appeared with such artists as Bob Mintzer, Kevin Mahogany, Slide Hampton, and Michael Formanek. Pop music engagements include appearances with the Jimmy Dorsey Orchestra, Glen Miller Orchestra, Ben Vereen, and Little Anthony and the Imperials.  Mr. Thomas is a busy performer in the Mid-Atlantic and has performed at venues including Meryerhoff Symphony Hall, Wolf Trap, the Strathmore, and Bethesda Blues and Jazz.

In addition to his work as a performer, Mr. Thomas is heavily engaged in jazz education.  Having previously held teaching positions at East Carolina University, the University of Northern Colorado, Colorado Christian University, John is currently teaching jazz and saxophone at The Baltimore School for the Arts, Washington College, and the Peabody Conservatory. 

Visit Website
Watch Video

Fri, May 4

8PM / $17
Get Tickets

Printing tickets is optional. Your name will appear on a list at the box office.

Upcoming Events

Mon, February 19, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Keith Thompson

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 25, 4:00 PM

The Hedgelawn Classical Series:Peabody at the Mainstay presents L'abri Trio

Get Tickets →

Mon, February 26, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with John Ewart and Mike McShane

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 3, 8:00 PM

Shirleta Settles

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 5, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with E. Shawn Qaissaunee

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 10, 8:00 PM

The High and Wides

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 11, 4:00 PM

The Hedgelawn Classical Series: Peabody at The Mainstay presents Trio Jinx

Get Tickets →

Mon, March 12, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Lester Barrett, Jr.

Get Tickets →

Wed, March 14, 8:00 PM

Jane Bunnett and Maqueque return to the Mainstay!

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 23, 8:00 PM

Hoot and Holler

Get Tickets →

Sun, March 25, 3:00 PM

National Music Festival/Resonance present Poughkeepsie Playlist

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 30, 8:00 PM

The Todd Marcus Jazz Orchestra

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 21, 8:00 PM

Dena Derose Trio

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 22, 4:00 PM

The Hedgelawn Series: Peabody at TMS Presents the Julian Brezon Ensemble

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 6, 4:00 PM

The Hedgelawn Series: Peabody at The Mainstay Presents Teodora Adzharova

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 10, 8:00 PM

Yacine Boulares and Ajoyo

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 18, 8:00 PM

Ken and Brad Kolodner Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 2, 8:00 PM

Uptown Vocal Jazz Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 23, 8:00 PM

Grand Ole Ditch

Get Tickets →