Sun Jan 27

Alyson Williams, Jackeim Joyner & Doc Martin

Sun, January 27
7PM / $49 - $69
Get Tickets
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

Alyson Williams

Acclaimed singer Alyson Williams is best known for her amazing live performances which thrill audiences with her powerful and passionate vocals. She began her career as a background singer for major artists including Bobby Brown and Melba Moore before becoming the first female R&B singer to sign with Def Jam Records. As the First Lady of Def Jam, she had several hit recordings in the late 1980s and early 1990s highlighted by five Top 10 Billboard R&B singles. Her first major hit was the uptempo "Sleep Talk" which reached #3 on the chart, and she also had big hits with "I Need Your Lovin'" at #5, "Can't Have My Man" at #7 and "Just My Luck" at #6 on the chart. Her signature song is the classic ballad "Just Call My Name", which is an all-time favorite on Quiet Storm radio formats and her live performance of this song always brings down the house!

National recording artist Jackiem Joyner is a talented instrumentalist who plays tenor, alto, soprano and baritone saxophone. He has toured with Angela Bofill, Jean Carne, Ronnie Laws and Keiko Matsui while also recording with Kirk Whalum, Jonathan Butler, Bobby Lyle and Marcus Johnson. He has released several nationally distributed albums, and his singles have reached the top of the Billboard Contemporary Jazz Chart. His first smooth jazz hit was "Stay With Me Tonight" featuring guitarist Peter White which reached #17 on the chart in 2007. His biggest hit was "I'm Waiting For You" which stayed at #1 on the chart for 12 weeks and was nominated for Song of the Year at the American Smooth Jazz Awards in 2010. He followed that with another big hit "Take Me There" which also reached #1 on the chart.

Saxophonist Phillip “Doc” Martin is a popular local artist who has wowed audiences everywhere from Blues Alley in DC to the St. Lucia Jazz Festival and the Catalina Island Jazz Festival. Since his debut album in 2003, his recordings have received airplay on Sirius XM and been featured on the Weather Channel including his tracks "Deep Pockets" and "Realization." Most music artists who use “Doc” as their stage name do it to express mastery of their instrument, but Doc Martin is also Dr. Martin, a certified dentist who opened his own practice called Quality Dental in Bowie, MD.

www.facebook.com/Alyson-Williams-The-First-Lady-Of-DEF-Jam-269973893062337/

www.jackiemjoyner.com

www.phillipmartin.net

Sun, January 27

7PM / $49 - $69
Get Tickets

Please note: There is a $20 food/beverage minimum per person not included in ticket price. You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional purchase policies.

Upcoming Events

Fri, January 18, 8:00 PM

Chuck Brown Band

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 19, 10:59 PM

Private Event

No Tickets for Sale →

Sun, January 20, 8:00 PM

Vivian Green

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 25, 8:00 PM

The Spinners

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 26, 8:00 PM

Be'la Dona

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 1, 8:00 PM

Norman Connors & Bobbi Humphrey

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 2, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 2, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 8, 8:00 PM

Bob Marley Birthday Celebration featuring I&I Riddim

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 9, 8:00 PM

A Tribute To The Music Of Maze & Frankie Beverly and The Gap Band

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 10, 3:00 PM

Anthony Brown & group therAPy

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 14, 7:30 PM

Valentine's Weekend with Johnny Gill plus BBJ/WHUR Red Dress Contest!

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 15, 8:00 PM

Valentine's Weekend with Johnny Gill plus BBJ/WHUR Red Dress Contest! Part2

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 16, 10:59 PM

Private Event

No Tickets →

Sun, February 17, 7:00 PM

The Nighthawks

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 24, 7:00 PM

Feelin' The Funk!

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 1, 8:00 PM

Spyro Gyra

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 22, 8:00 PM

Remembering the Queen of Soul - A Tribute to the Music of Aretha Franklin

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 23, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 27, 8:00 PM

Hey Nineteen - A Tribute to Steely Dan

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 10, 7:00 PM

Stokley of Mint Condition

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 10, 10:00 PM

Stokley of Mint Condition

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 24, 8:00 PM

Dave Hollister

Get Tickets →