Wed Nov 1

Gabrielle Stravelli

Wed, November 1
7:30PM / $15
Get Tickets
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

Gabrielle Stravelli

“Listening to the jazz singer Gabrielle Stravelli is like imbibing a potent cocktail whose flavor changes as you drain the glass...As she dipped and swooped, twirling notes and phrases with a confidence and playfulness that recalled Ella Fitzgerald in her prime, Ms. Stravelli began interpreting lyrics with a ferocity that her vocal pyrotechnics accentuated...”

— Stephen Holden, The New York Times

Award-winning vocalist Gabrielle Stravelli has garnered critical acclaim and a loyal following through her original songs and her unique take on material from the New American songbook as well as classic standards by artists as varied as Pink Floyd and Duke Ellington, Dolly Parton and Johnny Mercer. A trained actor, Gabrielle has a soulful sensitivity for the story in the lyric and was called “a powerhouse of individual expression” by David Finkle of The Village Voice.

In January 2017, Gabrielle released her third album, "Dream Ago" comprised primarily of original material co-written with bassist Pat O'Leary. The album received a five-star review from DownBeat Magazine and garnered raves from the Huffington Post, Scott Yanow of LA Jazz Scene and Tony Frankel of LA's Stage and Cinema among others. In March Gabrielle and her trio toured the album for ten days traveling from Philadelphia across the Midwest.

She immediately followed the tour with a week in Los Angeles as a master teacher for YoungArts, a national organization that organizes week-long intensives for artists 14-18 years old and connects them with professionals currently working in their chosen field. In April Gabrielle was invited by the US Embassy in Azerbaijan to perform at a gala celebrating 25 years of diplomatic relations between the US and Azerbaijan. Gabrielle's group collaborated with Sevda Alekperzade, Azerbaijan's most prominent jazz vocalist on an arrangement symbolizing the collaboration between the two countries, which was performed at the gala for 400 dignitaries and heads of state. 

Stravelli's group headlined the 2016 Eleuthera All That Jazz Festival in Eleuthera, Bahamas and headlined an international tour sponsored by the US State Department's American Music Abroad program for 2015/2016. Out of hundreds of applicants, the Gabrielle Stravelli Ensemble was one of just 10 bands sent around the world to foster cultural diplomacy through music. The tour took her to Moldova, Azerbaijan, Slovenia and Malta, where her quartet taught workshops and masterclasses during the day and performed concerts at night. In the fall of 2015 she premiered a new song cycle, Rooms of Light, written by world-renowned jazz pianist, Fred Hersch with lyrics by award-winning poet Mary Jo Salter. That project was proceeded by a run of solo shows at Feinstein's/54 Below which won her a second rave review from the New York Times.

"Ms. Stravelli’s emotional intelligence coincides with a phenomenal voice that she wielded with an easygoing confidence and impeccable taste." - Stephen Holden, New York Times

Wed, November 1

7:30PM / $15
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Wed, October 18, 8:00 PM

The Fix

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 19, 8:00 PM

The Sidleys and The Eric Scott Band

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 20, 8:00 PM

Wayne Linsey Howard Homecoming Concert

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 21, 10:59 PM

Private Event

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 22, 7:00 PM

A Tribute to the Music of Stephanie Mills, Chaka Khan and Aretha Franklin

Get Tickets →

Wed, October 25, 8:00 PM

BJ Jansen & Common Ground featuring Delfeayo Marsalis and Duane Eubanks

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 26, 7:00 PM

Tom Joyner presents Friends with Benefits Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 26, 10:00 PM

Tom Joyner presents Friends with Benefits Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 27, 7:00 PM

Tom Joyner presents Friends with Benefits Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 27, 10:00 PM

Tom Joyner presents Friends with Benefits Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 28, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 28, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 29, 7:30 PM

Billy Gilman

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 31, 7:30 PM

HALLOWEEN! Spooky Tuesday w The VI-Kings and The DCeivers

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 2, 8:00 PM

Hank Levy Legacy Band

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 3, 8:00 PM

An Evening with Jesse Colin Young and Band

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 5, 7:30 PM

Selina Albright & Steve Cole

Get Tickets →

Tue, November 7, 8:00 PM

Snark & Despair CD Release Show of Seth Kibel

Get Tickets →

Wed, November 8, 8:00 PM

Life's Rich

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 9, 8:00 PM

Jeanette Harris & Special Guest CeCe Peniston

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 10, 8:00 PM

Ann Hampton Callaway sings "The Ella Century"

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 11, 8:00 PM

Conya Doss & Special Guest Teri Tobin

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 12, 7:30 PM

Brian Blade

Get Tickets →

Mon, November 13, 7:30 PM

Archie's Retirement Party

Get Tickets →

Thu, November 16, 7:00 PM

Loose Ends featuring Jane Eugene

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 17, 8:00 PM

The Blues Beatles

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 19, 7:30 PM

A'ngela Winbush

Get Tickets →

Wed, November 22, 8:00 PM

Rare Essence

Get Tickets →

Fri, November 24, 8:00 PM

Kindred The Family Soul

Get Tickets →

Sat, November 25, 8:00 PM

Mousey Thompson & The James Brown Experience

Get Tickets →

Sun, November 26, 4:00 PM

A Gospel According to Jazz Christmas Tour

Get Tickets →