Sat May 20

Tribute to Dick Morgan featuring Tadataka Unno

Sat, May 20
8PM / $17 - $20
Buy Tickets
The Mainstay

5753 Main St
Rock Hall, MD 21661

Tadataka Unno

The legendary Dick Morgan was the DC area’s signature jazz pianist for more than half a century. He appeared at The Mainstay several times and one of his last recordings, “Timeless” was recorded in Delaware but issued on our own Mainstay Music label. His longtime sidemen, Steve Abshire on guitar; Nasar Abadey on drums and David Einhorn on bass; have teamed up with the New York jazz pianist Tadataka Unno for an evening of jazz paying tribute to a cherished master. Unno was born in Tokyo, grew up idolizing Dick Morgan and absorbed his unforgettable style like no one else. After becoming one of Japan’s leading jazz pianists, Unno moved to the United States in 2008 and was selected to attend Betty Carter's Jazz Ahead at the Kennedy Center and the Jazz Rising Stars Program in Chicago. He finally met his long-time idol at one of Morgan’s many performances at Blues Alley. Unno now lives in New York and plays at such clubs as the Village Vanguard, Blue Note, and Dizzy’s Club. Most recently he has been touring with legendary jazz drummer Jimmy Cobb. He has performed with Frank Wess, Joe Wilder, Eddie Henderson, Winard Harper, and Steve Williams and recently released his fifth album, "Journeyer." Over the past two years this group’s Tribute to Dick Morgan has played sold out concerts in Annapolis, Washington and Virginia.

Visit Website
Watch Video

Sat, May 20

8PM / $17 - $20
Buy Tickets

Printing tickets is optional. Your name will appear on a list at the box office.

Upcoming Events

Mon, May 1, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Fredy Granillo

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 6, 8:00 PM

The Eastport Oyster Boys

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 8, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Ferris and Colligan

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 13, 8:00 PM

Le Vent du Nord

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 15, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Meredith Hadaway

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 22, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Elisabeth Engle

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 27, 8:00 PM

Caitlin Canty

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 29, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Tom McHugh

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 3, 8:00 PM

Magic Dick and Shun Ng

Get Tickets →

Mon, June 5, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Fred Hughes

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 9, 8:00 PM

Viktorija Ge?yt? with Go Trio

Get Tickets →

Mon, June 12, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Celine Mogielnicki

Get Tickets →