Sun Jun 3

Rare Essence

Sun, June 3
8PM / $25
Get Tickets
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

Rare Essence

Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club 2018

 Rare Essence, Washington’s premier Go? Go band going on four decades has built a devoted fan base that spans multiple generations.  

Originated in the mid ‘70s by the late Godfather of Go-Go, Chuck Brown, Go-Go links songs together over percussion breakdowns—a raw, non-stop party groove fueled by congas, cowbells and timbales, with call and response interactions that obliterated divisions between a band that doesn't stop playing and audience that won't stop dancing.

Rare Essence has always been the city’s most popular and enduring Go-Go band. Formed by four students at a Southeast Washington Catholic school during the mid-‘70s, the band was kept on track by several no-nonsense moms and mentored by the late Godfather of Go-Go, Chuck Brown. Rare Essence quickly developed into the city’s most powerful Go-Go band, performing six to seven nights a week. They have performed with Run DMC, LL Cool J, Doug E. Fresh, Biz Markie, Ice Cube, Heavy D and the Boyz, Wu Tang Clan, Redman and Method Man, French Montana, Scarface, The Roots, TLC, Eric B and Rakim, YoYo, Shabba Ranks, KRS-1 not to mention Chuck Brown, Trouble Funk, The Junk Yard Band, & EU. While no two shows are alike, music lovers new to the Go-Go experience and Rare Essence sound will quickly feel at ease among an allegiance of loyal fans chanting along to hits like “Lock It,” “One On One,” “Hey Buddy Buddy,” and the ever popular “Overnight Scenario”. In a review of the band’s 30th Anniversary show, The Washington Post Pop Critic Writer Chris Richards wrote, “…this band has performed more than 5000 times. Like so many Rare Essence concerts, it’s easy to believe you’re seeing the best one.”

Dubbed “The Wickedest Band Alive” by rap pioneer Doug E. Fresh, who has collaborated with Rare Essence, one of many artists to incorporate Go? Go's percolating percussion, and some of its key players, into their own recordings.  Rare Essence remains the most consistently combustible live bands honed through countless performances in the Washington region.

Visit Website
Watch Video

Sun, June 3

8PM / $25
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Tue, May 22, 7:30 PM

B-CC HS Jazz Ensemble and the MCPS Faculty Big Band

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 23, 7:30 PM

The Walt Whitman High School Jazz Ensemble

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 24, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 25, 8:00 PM

Macy Gray

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 26, 8:00 PM

BY POPULAR DEMAND SECOND SHOW ADDED: Macy Gray

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 27, 8:00 PM

Trent Tomlinson

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 1, 8:00 PM

Stephanie Quayle

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 2, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 2, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Mon, June 4, 7:30 PM

Bethesda Blues and Jazz Youth Orchestra and Warren Wolf

Get Tickets →

Tue, June 5, 8:00 PM

Midge Ure and Paul Young

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 7, 8:00 PM

An Evening with Jesse Colin Young and Band

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 8, 8:00 PM

An Evening with Jesse Colin Young and Band

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 10, 1:00 PM

Be'la Dona Gogo Brunch

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 16, 8:00 PM

Cheryl Lynn

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 17, 1:00 PM

ConFunkShun

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 17, 7:00 PM

ConFunkShun

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 22, 8:00 PM

Let It Flow Band

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 28, 7:00 PM

Chrisette Michele

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 30, 8:00 PM

A Tribute To The Music of MOTOWN" featuring THE BRENCORE ALLSTARS BAND

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 1, 8:00 PM

Happy Together Tour 2018

Get Tickets →

Tue, July 3, 8:00 PM

The Chuck Brown Band

Get Tickets →

Fri, July 6, 7:00 PM

Bobby Caldwell R&B Show w/ Special Guest: Tulani

Get Tickets →

Sun, July 22, 1:00 PM

Vicki Lawrence and Mama: A Two Woman Show

Get Tickets →

Fri, August 17, 8:00 PM

The SOS Band

Get Tickets →

Sun, August 19, 7:30 PM

A Tribute to the Music of Marvin Gaye and Teddy Pendergrass

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 13, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 15, 8:00 PM

Funkateers Ball featuring Clones of Funk with MC Bootsy Collins

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 13, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 20, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 27, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →