Sat Apr 29

Cesar Orozco and Kamarata Jazz Innovative Venezuelan/Cuban Jazz

Sat, April 29
8PM / $20
Buy Tickets
The Mainstay

5753 Main St
Rock Hall, MD 21661

Cesar Orozco

Cesar Orozco is a prolific Cuban/Venezuelan pianist, violinist, composer, arranger, producer, and educator based in the New York City area. In 2012, he moved to the United States after receiving a full tuition Assistantship from The Peabody Institute of John Hopkins University, where he earned a Graduate Performance Diploma (GPD) in Jazz Piano. He also holds a degree in violin and ensemble conducting from the National School of Arts in Havana, Cuba. He is a Cubadisco Award winner (the equivalent of our Grammy Award) and wrote a hit musical while living in Venezuela. He created Kamarata Jazz in Venezuela back in 2006. The group was originally conceived as a quintet: piano, electric bass, drums, percussion and Venezuelan cuatro. Currently, they perform as a quintet but use a saxophone instead of the cuatro. Kamarata Jazz mixes Venezuelan and Cuban traditional music with Jazz plus other genres such as flamenco, tango, and bossa nova. The core of the repertoire is based on some of the Orozco’s original compositions, as well as innovative versions of Venezuelan and Cuban pieces from the traditional repertoire. Since arriving in the States, Orozco has become a much in-demand pianist in both Jazz and Latin-American music and with Latin jazz legends such as Paquito D’Rivera, who calls Orozco’s music, “the best combination of Cuban, jazz and Venezuelan music I ever heard.”

Visit Website
Watch Video

Sat, April 29

8PM / $20
Buy Tickets

Printing tickets is optional. Your name will appear on a list at the box office.

Upcoming Events

Mon, May 1, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Fredy Granillo

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 6, 8:00 PM

The Eastport Oyster Boys

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 8, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Ferris and Colligan

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 13, 8:00 PM

Le Vent du Nord

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 15, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Meredith Hadaway

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 20, 8:00 PM

Tribute to Dick Morgan featuring Tadataka Unno

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 22, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Elisabeth Engle

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 27, 8:00 PM

Caitlin Canty

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 29, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Tom McHugh

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 3, 8:00 PM

Magic Dick and Shun Ng

Get Tickets →

Mon, June 5, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Fred Hughes

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 9, 8:00 PM

Viktorija Gecyte with Go Trio

Get Tickets →

Mon, June 12, 7:00 PM

Mainstay Monday with Celine Mogielnicki

Get Tickets →