Fri Feb 1

Norman Connors & Bobbi Humphrey

Fri, February 1
8PM / $59.50 - $79
Get Tickets
Bethesda Blues & Jazz Supper Club

7719 Wisconsin Avenue
Bethesda, MD 20814

Norman Connors

NORMAN CONNORS

Is an American jazz drummer, composer, arranger, and producer who has led some influential jazz and R&B groups. He also achieved several big R&B hits of the day, especially with love ballads. He is possibly best known for the 1976 hit, "You Are My Starship" on which lead vocals were sung by Michael Henderson.

 

BOBBI HUMPHREY - "FIRST LADY OF FLUTE"

She has been named “First Lady of the Flute” by the critics and listeners alike and, from the accomplishments in her musical career, deservedly so. For three decades now, Bobbi Humphrey has been playing her special brand of music to audiences around the world. Her professional career began in 1971 when she was the first female signed to Blue Note Records.

The success of Bobbi Humphrey Music selling in excess of five million units of the Campbell records, Ms. Humphrey boldly launched her label, Paradise Sounds Records, in 1994. She recorded her first release “Passion Flute”, which was recently re-released and continues to be one of her fans’ all-time favorite recording. The album’s concept is to showcase Bobbi Humphrey with a cool jazz setting; mostly at mid-tempo: although there is a surprising up?tempo version of this huge hit, “Harlem River Drive. There are also two original ballads in which Bobbi features the smooth singing of D’wayne Whitehead. Another song features two great artists and friends of Bobbi, Gwen Guthrie on vocal and Ralph MacDonald on percussion. From the first track, “Steppin’ Out” which features Bobbi’s flute on a hauntingly smooth, yet strong hook, to the last track, “Rainbows”, a soaring ballad, her passionate and pure flute playing is ever present. In “Passion Flute”, her fans old and new will surely have a greater passion for Bobbi Humphrey.

Fri, February 1

8PM / $59.50 - $79
Get Tickets

Please note: There is a $20 food/beverage minimum per person not included in ticket price. You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional purchase policies.

Upcoming Events

Fri, January 18, 8:00 PM

Chuck Brown Band

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 19, 10:59 PM

Private Event

No Tickets for Sale →

Sun, January 20, 8:00 PM

Vivian Green

Get Tickets →

Fri, January 25, 8:00 PM

The Spinners

Get Tickets →

Sat, January 26, 8:00 PM

Be'la Dona

Get Tickets →

Sun, January 27, 7:00 PM

Alyson Williams, Jackeim Joyner & Doc Martin

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 2, 7:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 2, 10:00 PM

Joe Clair & Friends Comedy Show

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 8, 8:00 PM

Bob Marley Birthday Celebration featuring I&I Riddim

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 9, 8:00 PM

A Tribute To The Music Of Maze & Frankie Beverly and The Gap Band

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 10, 3:00 PM

Anthony Brown & group therAPy

Get Tickets →

Thu, February 14, 7:30 PM

Valentine's Weekend with Johnny Gill plus BBJ/WHUR Red Dress Contest!

Get Tickets →

Fri, February 15, 8:00 PM

Valentine's Weekend with Johnny Gill plus BBJ/WHUR Red Dress Contest! Part2

Get Tickets →

Sat, February 16, 10:59 PM

Private Event

No Tickets →

Sun, February 17, 7:00 PM

The Nighthawks

Get Tickets →

Sun, February 24, 7:00 PM

Feelin' The Funk!

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 1, 8:00 PM

Spyro Gyra

Get Tickets →

Fri, March 22, 8:00 PM

Remembering the Queen of Soul - A Tribute to the Music of Aretha Franklin

Get Tickets →

Sat, March 23, 10:59 PM

PRIVATE EVENT

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 27, 8:00 PM

Hey Nineteen - A Tribute to Steely Dan

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 10, 7:00 PM

Stokley of Mint Condition

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 10, 10:00 PM

Stokley of Mint Condition

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 24, 8:00 PM

Dave Hollister

Get Tickets →