Sat May 27

Moises Borges & Joshua Smith

Sat, May 27
8:30PM / $15
Buy Tickets
Nighttown

12387 Cedar Road
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106

Moises Borges & Joshua Smith

Bossa Nova, Samba, and more from Brazilian Vocalist and Guitarist Moises Borges with West Coast Saxophonist & Cleveland Native Joshua Smith.  Echoes of Getz/Gilberto on Nighttown's Stege!

Moises Borges a native of Brazil now living in Cleveland has become a prolific performer one the Northeast Ohio scene in recent years.  A gifted vocalist and guitarist, Borges plays in the Bossa Nova tradition interpreting classics by Jobim, Gilberto, and many others.  This far away from his native Brazil the music of his homeland is very much alive when he is on stage.

Joshua Smith is a saxophonist/multi instrumentalist residing in the San Francisco Bay area. He has been performing for the past 20 years with a wide array of notable jazz and creative musicians, beginning in his hometown of Cleveland, Ohio.

Joshua has performed in the straight-ahead jazz realm for the past 20 years. His current sidemen are the best of the San Francisco Bay Area, and he has played countless concerts and private events in the straight-ahead arena. Growing up, Smith began gigging at a very early age with older jazzmen of his hometown, Cleveland, Ohio... He was a member of "Greg Bandy's Young Lions'" and studied under saxophone iconoclast Ernie Krivda.

Joshua has since made his mark in the arena of avant-garde jazz and forward thinking jazz through performing with players like Joe Maneri, Cuong Vu, (of The Pat Metheny Group), Chris Jonas, trumpet legend Nate Wooley, Trevor Dunn, Todd Sickafoose, Myra Melford, Ben Goldberg,Carmen Castaldi,  and drummer Scott Amendola in addition to many other notable players...

Additionally, he's performed with funk drumming legend Clyde Stubblefield, toured as a member of The Youngblood Brass Band, and bluegrass legend Peter Rowan...

He's been a member of The Scott Amendola Quartet for the last five years, having performed with guitar luminary Nels Cline, at John Zorn's NYC venue, The Stone.

In 2010 he acted as music director and contributing composer to the "Leave Me Alone" opera, an avant grade jazz opera written by Smith's good friend Harvey Pekar, at Oberlin College.

 

Visit Website
Watch Video

Sat, May 27

8:30PM / $15
Buy Tickets

No need to make an additional table reservation - it's already included with these concert tickets!! You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional terms and conditions.

Upcoming Events

Wed, April 26, 7:30 PM

Noah Bendix-Balgley - An Evening of Conversation, Bach & Klezmer

Get Tickets →

Thu, April 27, 8:00 PM

Kinky Friedman

Get Tickets →

Fri, April 28, 8:30 PM

Nicole Henry

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 29, 8:00 PM

Stanley Jordan

Get Tickets →

Sat, April 29, 10:00 PM

Stanley Jordan

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 30, 12:30 PM

Exhilarating Challenges: Beethoven on Period Instruments

Get Tickets →

Sun, April 30, 7:00 PM

Amina Figarova Quintet

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 1, 7:00 PM

Baldwin Wallace Musical Theater

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 2, 7:00 PM

Charlie Mosbrook & Friends

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 4, 8:00 PM

Ernie Krivda & "Music From the Other Side of Midnight"

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 5, 8:30 PM

Sammy DeLeon Latin Jazz Sextet

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 6, 8:30 PM

Forecast

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 7, 7:00 PM

North Coast Winds

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 8, 7:00 PM

Cleveland Hts. HS Jazz Program

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 10, 7:00 PM

Marion Meadows / Paul Taylor "Sax & the City"

Get Tickets →

Wed, May 10, 9:00 PM

Marion Meadows / Paul Taylor "Sax & the City"

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 11, 7:00 PM

Marion Meadows / Paul Taylor "Sax & the City"

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 11, 9:00 PM

Marion Meadows / Paul Taylor "Sax & the City"

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 12, 8:30 PM

Rachel Brown & The Beatnik Playboys

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 13, 8:30 PM

Myron Davis

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 15, 7:00 PM

Shaun Martin

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 15, 7:30 PM

University School HS Band

Get Tickets →

Mon, May 15, 9:00 PM

Shaun Martin

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 16, 7:00 PM

Gerald Clayton Trio

Get Tickets →

Tue, May 16, 7:30 PM

Balkan Strings Trio

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 18, 8:00 PM

Hathaway Brown Vocal Music Program

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 19, 8:30 PM

Debbie Darling

Get Tickets →

Sat, May 20, 8:30 PM

Richie Cole All-Star Quartet featuring Greg Bandy

Get Tickets →

Sun, May 21, 7:00 PM

"Angel of The Night" w/Barbara Barrett & John Morton

Get Tickets →

Thu, May 25, 8:00 PM

Winslow Road w/Webster, Carr, Custy, & Abersold

Get Tickets →

Fri, May 26, 8:00 PM

Jeff Lorber Fusion

Get Tickets →