Sat May 27

Moises Borges & Joshua Smith

Sat, May 27
8:30PM / $15
Tickets off line & available at door
Nighttown

12387 Cedar Road
Cleveland Heights, OH 44106

Moises Borges & Joshua Smith

Bossa Nova, Samba, and more from Brazilian Vocalist and Guitarist Moises Borges with West Coast Saxophonist & Cleveland Native Joshua Smith.  Echoes of Getz/Gilberto on Nighttown's Stege!

Moises Borges a native of Brazil now living in Cleveland has become a prolific performer one the Northeast Ohio scene in recent years.  A gifted vocalist and guitarist, Borges plays in the Bossa Nova tradition interpreting classics by Jobim, Gilberto, and many others.  This far away from his native Brazil the music of his homeland is very much alive when he is on stage.

Joshua Smith is a saxophonist/multi instrumentalist residing in the San Francisco Bay area. He has been performing for the past 20 years with a wide array of notable jazz and creative musicians, beginning in his hometown of Cleveland, Ohio.

Joshua has performed in the straight-ahead jazz realm for the past 20 years. His current sidemen are the best of the San Francisco Bay Area, and he has played countless concerts and private events in the straight-ahead arena. Growing up, Smith began gigging at a very early age with older jazzmen of his hometown, Cleveland, Ohio... He was a member of "Greg Bandy's Young Lions'" and studied under saxophone iconoclast Ernie Krivda.

Joshua has since made his mark in the arena of avant-garde jazz and forward thinking jazz through performing with players like Joe Maneri, Cuong Vu, (of The Pat Metheny Group), Chris Jonas, trumpet legend Nate Wooley, Trevor Dunn, Todd Sickafoose, Myra Melford, Ben Goldberg,Carmen Castaldi,  and drummer Scott Amendola in addition to many other notable players...

Additionally, he's performed with funk drumming legend Clyde Stubblefield, toured as a member of The Youngblood Brass Band, and bluegrass legend Peter Rowan...

He's been a member of The Scott Amendola Quartet for the last five years, having performed with guitar luminary Nels Cline, at John Zorn's NYC venue, The Stone.

In 2010 he acted as music director and contributing composer to the "Leave Me Alone" opera, an avant grade jazz opera written by Smith's good friend Harvey Pekar, at Oberlin College.

 

Visit Website
Watch Video

Sat, May 27

8:30PM / $15
Tickets off line & available at door

No need to make an additional table reservation - it's already included with these concert tickets!! You are buying tickets that are not refundable or exchangeable. Please review our additional terms and conditions.

Upcoming Events

Sun, May 28, 7:00 PM

Christian Sands Trio

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 1, 7:00 PM

John Richmond Swingtet Celebrates Benny Goodman

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 2, 8:30 PM

Pat Harris

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 3, 8:30 PM

The Numbers Band (15-60-75)

Get Tickets →

Tue, June 6, 7:00 PM

Hathaway Brown Songwriters & Delani Hughes CD Release

Get Tickets →

Wed, June 7, 7:00 PM

Urbanity w/Albare & Phil Turcio

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 9, 8:30 PM

Lucas Kadish Trio

Get Tickets →

Mon, June 12, 7:00 PM

Hubb's Groove w/David Garfield

Get Tickets →

Wed, June 14, 7:00 PM

Philippe LeJeune

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 15, 8:00 PM

Joe Lovano "Hometown Sessions"

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 16, 8:30 PM

Joe Lovano Quartet

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 17, 8:30 PM

Nicolas Meier

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 18, 7:00 PM

Eddie Baccus Sr. & Jr.

Get Tickets →

Wed, June 21, 7:00 PM

Water Seed

Get Tickets →

Fri, June 23, 8:30 PM

Beppe Gambetta

Get Tickets →

Sat, June 24, 8:30 PM

Travis "Moonchild" Haddix

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 25, 12:00 PM

Sullivan Fortner Trio

Get Tickets →

Sun, June 25, 7:00 PM

Transportation Boulevard

Get Tickets →

Wed, June 28, 7:00 PM

Django Festival All-Stars

Get Tickets →

Thu, June 29, 8:00 PM

Songwriters in the Round

Get Tickets →

Sat, July 1, 8:30 PM

Ronnie Foster Organ Trio

Get Tickets →

Thu, July 13, 8:00 PM

Rene Schiffer & Mime Yamahiro-Brinkmann

Get Tickets →

Wed, July 19, 7:00 PM

Kenny Garrett Quintet

Get Tickets →

Wed, July 19, 9:00 PM

Kenny Garrett Quintet

Get Tickets →

Thu, July 20, 7:00 PM

Kenny Garrett Quintet

Get Tickets →

Thu, July 20, 9:00 PM

Kenny Garrett Quintet

Get Tickets →