Fri Dec 6

Evil and the Anti-Hero: Brother From Another Planet (1984)

Fri, December 6
7PM / Free
Get Tickets
Hill Center at the Old Naval Hospital

921 Pennsylvania Ave. SE
Washington, DC 20003

Tom Zaniello

In this series, we will explore how our anti-heroes must challenge the status-quo of cultures in which they are marginalized and excluded, cultures which have allowed racism, classism, and slavery to thrive. Tom Zaniello will lead a discussion after the film. 

In Brother from Another Planet (1984), an alien from outer space pulls himself out of New York City’s harbor waters around Ellis Island and learns to negotiate the racism of American culture as inter-planetary slave-trackers pursue him. Directed by John Sayles. 

Please be aware that this film is rated-R.

In addition to publishing a number of film studies books, Tom Zaniello has also written a true crime book, California’s Lamson Murder Mystery: The Depression-Era Case that Divided Santa Clara County. Zaniello will be screening three films about the ways in which anti-heroes confront the unjust status quo.

September 27: Bad Day at Black Rock (1955)

In Bad Day at Black Rock (1955, dir. John Sturges) a one-armed pacifist visits a remote Western town to try to discover what happened to the family of fellow-soldier, a Japanese-American who fought with him in Europe during World War 2.

October 25: Kontrol (2003)

In Kontrol (2003, dir. Nimrod Antal), the citizens of Budapest treat the class of subway ticket inspectors as beneath contempt, while a serial killer is free to make the underground system an ever greater hell.

December 6: Brother From Another Planet (1984)

In Brother from Another Planet (1984, dir. John Sayles), an alien from outer space pulls himself out of New York City’s harbor waters around Ellis Island and learns to negotiate the racism of American culture as inter-planetary slave-trackers pursue him.

Fri, December 6

7PM / Free
Get Tickets
Upcoming Events

Sun, September 15, 4:30 PM

American Roots Concert Series: Steve Poltz

Get Tickets →

Mon, September 16, 7:30 PM

Overbeck Lecture: A Monument to Literature in a City of Politics

Get Tickets →

Tue, September 17, 6:30 PM

Street Food: Samosas + Pakora

Get Tickets →

Tue, September 17, 7:00 PM

Talk of the Hill with Bill Press: Jim Acosta of CNN

Get Tickets →

Wed, September 18, 6:30 PM

Hill Center Galleries Opening Reception

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 19, 6:30 PM

Beyond Basics: New Orleans Fête

Get Tickets →

Sat, September 21, 12:00 PM

Walking Tour: Marching Along with John Philip Sousa

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 22, 4:30 PM

American Roots Concert Series: Freddy & Francine

Get Tickets →

Tue, September 24, 6:30 PM

Order In: Chinese

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 26, 6:30 PM

Beyond Basics: Pasta Making

Get Tickets →

Thu, September 26, 6:30 PM

Spanish Language Course: Beginners

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 27, 7:00 PM

Chef's Table with Chef Gérard Pangaud

Get Tickets →

Fri, September 27, 7:00 PM

Evil and the Anti-Hero: Bad Day at Black Rock (1955)

Get Tickets →

Sun, September 29, 12:00 PM

Hill Center's Annual Family Day + Concert

Get Tickets →

Mon, September 30, 6:30 PM

French Language Course: Beginner I

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 1, 6:30 PM

Basic Drawing Techniques

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 1, 6:30 PM

French Language Course: Intermediate

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 5, 10:00 AM

The Art of French Cooking with Chef Gérard Pangaud

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 6, 11:00 AM

Seasonal Chinese Cuisine with Chefs Lisa and Peter Chang

Get Tickets →

Sun, October 6, 3:00 PM

Eastern Market Art Series and Trainings: Charlie Visconage's Hall of Artist

Get Tickets →

Mon, October 7, 6:30 PM

Intermediate Drawing

Get Tickets →

Tue, October 8, 6:30 PM

Giro d'Italia: Venice

Get Tickets →

Wed, October 9, 6:30 PM

Street Food: Arancini and Polpette

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 10, 6:30 PM

No Boundaries Cuisine: Plantains

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 10, 7:00 PM

Street Scenes: Herb Scott - Saxophonist, Vocalist

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 11, 11:00 AM

Long Lunch: Paella

Get Tickets →

Sat, October 12, 11:00 AM

Giro d'Italia: Sicily

Get Tickets →

Wed, October 16, 6:30 PM

Kitchen 101: Sausage Making

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 17, 6:30 PM

Beyond Basics: Pasta Making

Get Tickets →

Thu, October 17, 7:00 PM

Global Sounds on the Hill: ASA-CHANG & Junray

Get Tickets →

Fri, October 18, 5:00 PM

Kids Concert + Family Happy Hour with King Bullfrog

Get Tickets →